Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano WH-RX05 Disc Clincher Wheelset

ShimanoWH-RX05 Disc Clincher Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(50%)
(38%)
(0%)
(0%)
(13%)
Good value
by Keith
Daily Commuter
Corvallis

I got these to replace the wheels on my old commuter bike. The price was right and they may be a little nicer than the stock wheels that came with the bike. I think they look pretty good, too.

Reviewed 10/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not great for e-bikes and commuting
by Olivier
Daily Commuter
Victoria, BC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These wheels came with my e-bile Felt e95 Sport. I bought this bike new in 2016 and after 10000km I had already replaced 7 spokes. Each time they break at the thread near the nipple during breaking. It looks like 28 spokes are not enough to withstand heavy commuting and disc breaks. The inner wall of the rear rim is also cracked, maybe due to pot-holes. I have to replace it. I would not recommend these wheels.

Reviewed 4/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent value
by Nooksack Ranger
Daily Commuter
Bellingham, WA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have put more than 8,000 commuting and training miles in rain and nasty weather on this wheelset. Aside from one broken spoke, I have experienced no issues. The wheels are still true. Hard to beat the value you could spend more on a set of skewers. Weight? With this kind of reliability and value, who cares?

Reviewed 3/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clear choice as upgrade to my commuter bike
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN

I purchased these wheels as an upgrade to the stock wheels on my Charge Plug 3, which is my commuter bike. I did not realize it at the time (probably due to my relative ignorance of the world of disc brakes) that these were not compatible with the stock wheels' brake rotor - these are centerlocking while the stock wheels were six-bolt. So, after purchasing the appropriate rotor I mounted these with just a little bit of work to adjust the brake calipers from contacting the rotor mounts when the wheels spun. All good. These are affordable, attractive, and have proven durable over their first 500 miles.

Reviewed 1/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid wheels, great value
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle

Put these on my commuter last month and love em. They're not light but, who cares, I'm not racing on em! Give these a try if you're looking for a good, inexpensive disc wheel set. The value alone will make you smile.

Reviewed 11/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bang For Buck Disc Wheelset out there
by pdxcrossguy
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these wheels to compliment a rain bikecommuter (Soma Double Cross Disc). These wheels are bombproof, reasonably stiff, and for the price you can't shake a stick at them.

I really like how solid these wheels feel on rough pavement. They're not light but they ride like a lively brick ****house. Seriously, for the money, you can't beat these wheels.

I also appreciate that they're completely rebuildable.

Reviewed 12/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
these wheels are boss!
by deeBiker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these wheels to compliment a rain bikecommuter (Soma Double Cross Disc). These wheels are bombproof, reasonably stiff, and for the price you can't shake a stick at them.

I really like how solid these wheels feel on rough pavement. They're not light but they ride like the boss. Seriously, for the money, you can't beat these wheels.

I also appreciate that they're completely rebuildable.

Reviewed 12/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best value out there for RoadCX Disc
by Tommy
Competitive Racer
Portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Not 11 speed compatible! Once I got past that and installed them on my cross bike, I knew I chose a winner. These have bomb proof bearings, 32 bladed stainless steel spokes and 23mm wide rims. They've already past the worst cross conditions they will ever see and I'm excited to throw road tires on them for the spring. Best value I've seen in a wheel set so far. Will look for an 11 speed version from Shimano when my components demand it.

Reviewed 10/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.