Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano SH-RC9 S-Phyre Road Shoe

ShimanoSH-RC9 S-Phyre Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(96%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(4%)
So far - awesome!
by Chris
PA

I'm a size 11 US for pretty much every shoe, normal width. I seem to be a 45 in every EU sized shoe, so the 45.5 recommended size threw me off, but I followed the sheet and went with it. Fits perfectly, just enough wiggle room for riding but not enough to make my feet move around. Of note, I'm a 45 in the R321 and R171 (whatever the previous flagship and second in line models were).

The main thing I despised with the old Shimano shoes was the ratchetbuckle system, I replaced them 3 times over and just from routine use, no crashes. The shoes were also bulkier than the new RC9.

One shoe in 45.5 size weighs 270 grams. They feel like nothing.

The boa system on these is awesome, I can tighten them down way beyond snug on my foot and nothing goes numb. This is foot specific but they do tighten down just right for me.

No hot spots, nothing at all to complain about. I have mediumhigh arches, so the included arch pads are nice. I use aftermarket insoles, either G8 semi-custom or my actual molded footbeds, they are a bit wide for the shoes but are fine (all of my shoes have this issue).

I went with the blue color, and boy are they blue. I dig them though.

Cleat setup is fantastic too, the soles have numbers and lines all over so you don't have to guess.

Great shoes. Price is price, if it's too high, don't pay, if you can swing it, go for it!

Reviewed 5/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Talk about stiff
by ccomardo
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans, LA

These have become my everyday road shoes. The stiffness and adjustability is second to none. After a few hundred miles and a century I have to say well worth the cash to upgrade to a top level boot.

Reviewed 5/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the fit and comfort!
by Tim T.
Competitive Racer
Dallas, Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Can't beat a great fitting pair of comfortable road shoes for long rides and races!

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best shoe i have found
by mike
Competitive Racer
Lenexa, Ks
Review for Shimano SH-R321 Road Shoe
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Really an exceptional product. I have tried specialized, SIDI, Lake, Bont, and Shimano....i keep coming back to Shimano. I have a foot that is right between normal and wide, some of the true wide shoes are too much while a standard shoe is fairly tight. This seems to be the perfect blend, i can wear the wide or normal and the fit is very nice. Now that is all personal preference and will depend on the person. The aspects that make this stand out and are not personally dependent are as follows

- No BOA system to deal with! I have a 7 year old pair of shimano's still going strong with the buckle system

- Custom molding is very nice if your shop has a vacuum sealer or you can heat them in your oven.

- Very well cut anatomically

- Not overly long or wide, in other words i would call this a neutral shoe.

- Insanely stiff and light

- Looks very sharp and after 6 months of very hard use they have no signs of wear and tear

Overall i am going to buy another pair as i ride around 325mpw and want to keep these going for a long time.

Reviewed 8/24/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Great Riding Shoe
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm DesertVancouver
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lightweight, and they really stand out in traffic. Those two shoes rotating around are an eye catcher. I ride about 300 miles a month and also find they breath well in hot weather.

The snap buckles are a nice feature too. I had them on my last pair but only the top snap.

Been riding in and around Palm Springs and Palm Desert so the heat test worked well.

Now for som eriding in the northwest.

Reviewed 3/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wow. Shimano really raised the bar with these shoes
by DaveZ
Competitive Racer
Salt Lake, UT
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Light, stiff, comfortable, and pretty nice looking. What more can you ask for for a cycling shoe. I've had plenty of Sidi, Specialized, Lake, Northwave and other shoes over the years, and I've never had a shoe that pushed all the buttons like this one does. After riding a pair for six months, I bought another pair in a different color, just in case they decide to change the design for the worse on the next iteration. I LOVE this shoe.

Reviewed 8/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoes
by Dr M
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft Lauderdale FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are the first non Sidi shoes I have worn in many years. Tried them on at a local bike shop and was blown away by the fit and how light they are. Does not hurt they they look really awesome as well. Performance wise these shoes have more fore-aft adjustment than the Sidis and the BOA closure stays right where you adjust it vs with the Sidis that they tend to loosen up. Very stiff sole and wry close to the pedal platform. Did not come with the socks but a card was enclosed which made it easy to order the free socks. As usual Bike Tires had a great price on these shoes.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent shoes! If you're a serious cyclist, look no further.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Escondido
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I absolutely love these shoes. Stiff and very comfortable....BOA dials make it easy to adjust.

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit. Light, stiff and comfortable.
by TomB
Competitive Racer
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very well made shoe that fits like a soft leather driving glove. Doesn't feel too tight, but my feet don't move around at all. Great power transfer. Feels cool in scorching weather. I have the blue ones and I love the look. Very distinctive. I've never been that fashion conscious, but I'm actually thinking about getting another pair in a different color.

Reviewed 4/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have used other brands like SIDI and SPECIALIZED cycling shoes, but SHIMANO finally came up with the best cycling shoe in the market!
by Mherrera
Competitive Racer
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used other brands like SIDI and SPECIALIZED cycling shoes, but SHIMANO finally came up with the best cycling shoe in the market!

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Road Shoes
by K-Dub
Lake Charles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been wearing S-Works shoes since 2013 thru the last 3 series of those from Specialized. The Shimano shoes are every bit of the same quality as the S-Works. The toe box is perfect sized and the heel does not squeeze your heal like the S-Works 6. Sole is stiff but I wear a 45 in Specialized and had to go with 45.5 in Shimano.

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano quality
by Anonymous

Excellent shoe as you would expect from the top of the line. Everyone should try these and you will learn why there the best rated for comfort and pedal power transfer and all day comfort. If the sole was flatter you could use them as House slippers.

Reviewed 1/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing shoes
by Hoeferland
Tigard, Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've spent most of the last two seasons searching for a set of shoes that would work for my feet and eliminate numbness. After trying nearly 8 pairs of shoes I'm happy to say that Shimano nailed it with the new RC9s. A major step forward when compared to the 321s and a truly advanced shoe for the market.

Reviewed 1/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing shoes
by Hoeferland
Tigard, Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've spent most of the last two seasons searching for a set of shoes that would work for my feet and eliminate numbness. After trying nearly 8 pairs of shoes I'm happy to say that Shimano nailed it with the new RC9s. A major step forward when compared to the 321s and a truly advanced shoe for the market.

Reviewed 1/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The most comfortable shoes. Ever.
by Phil
Review for Shimano SH-R321 Road Shoe
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have been through numerous pairs of cycling shoes over the past six years, including Sidis and Mavics, and even with custom insoles I always had foot pain on longer rides. I bought these Shimanos and had them heat molded at the Tigard store, and they fit like gloves. Absolutely brilliant!

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great well made shoes.
by Brt
Cycling Enthusiast
Camano Island, Wa

I am not really a Shimano fan but when I but I spotted these shoes I knew they were special, first the size chart was not correct for me, I wear 11s in street shoes and feet that are a bit wide and 45.5 is my usual size but I always have a problem with my big toes touching the tip of the shoe so I ordered 46 and the size chart read 11.25, I got the shoes and tried one on.. way to big and surprisingly too wide also, back went the 46s and 45.5 at my door took one out of the box and nervously tried it on.. oh my God these shoes fit perfect, width was perfect and my toes never touch and after about 500 miles these are by far my favorites of the 9 pair that I own.. a couple things to keep in mind, Shimano makes these in a wide size do not buy them unless you have seriously wide feet and these are warm weather shoes, those things that look like little vent holes are vent holes so if it starts to rain your feet will immediately be wet and cold..

I love these shoes and will buy another pair in blue.. Nice Job Shimano..

Reviewed 11/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Nice Road Shoes
by Kwoodard
Competitive Racer
Louisiana

I have been wearing S-Works 6 shoes for the last 2 years and really liked except the tight grip around my ankles. The shimano shoes are probably the most comfortable shoes out of the box I have had. I wear a 45 in Specialized but wear a 45.5 in the Shimano shoes.

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not what I expected
by DECyclist
Competitive Racer
Wilmington, DE
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a competitive cyclist that rides over 150 miles per week so I was looking for a light high quality shoe that was comfortable. The S-Phyre were everything I expected until I put them on. My feet were miserable in them. I could actually feel the bolts from my cleats on the underside of my foot! Shimano has a very good return policy so I held onto them for a couple of rides to see if my feet would adjust but they only got worse.

Reviewed 9/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
S-Phyre 5 Stars
by Patrick
South Texas...where the wind doesn''t blow but suc

When one thinks of high-end road shoes, Shimano did not rise to cream of crop status until now. Shimano took the best features from top road shoes such as Sidi and S-Works and incorporated into S-Phyre. The suppleness of material means drastic reduction in break-in time.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano got it right
by Patrick
Cycling Enthusiast
South Texas - where the wind doesn''t blow it suck
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

From the moment I opened the box, I knew Shimano jumped to the pole position with these shoes. Shimano did their homework by incorporating design elements from other brands and made it their own. I was ecstatic the way shoes performed during my inaugural ride. I not only get the roomy toe box, but the shoes gripped my narrow heel counter. You will also not be disappointed with stiffness of the carbon sole. I could discern no difference from my S-Works shoes. While am envious I was unable to heat-mold the shoes, you will be pleased you will not experience a break-in period due to material's supple characteristics.

Reviewed 5/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page