Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Schwalbe One V-Guard Road Tire

SchwalbeOne V-Guard Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(2)
(60%)
(13%)
(7%)
(7%)
(13%)
Supple, grippy in all conditions, but punctures
by Scott Kocher
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

I've had these in 28mm on my rain bike for 9 months. They are grippy in all conditions, and very fastcomfysupple with a thin casing and soft compound. But... I get a lot of punctures with them. For a summer race tire they could be ok. For my rain bike I am going back to Conti GP 4 Seasons in 32mm.

Reviewed 1/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Incredible Performance and still Durable
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
40 of 42 customers found this review helpful.

These are truly satisfying tires for fast riding. I am a retired engineer and love to test things for my own benefit. In my opinion single parameter testing done in laboratory controlled conditions by manufacturers is mostly useful for advertising the tire. Real world performance of a tire is complicated, and subject to variations as well as many external factors - yet more useful than rolling a tire on a steel drum (I am not able to ride on a steel drum). So mostly out of frustration, I started my own testing program of sorts with Schwalbe One's, Vittoria Open Corsa CX III's and Continental GP 4000S II tires on ENVE Smart 3.4 carbon wheels as well as some on ROL Race SL aluminum wheels. My bike is made of titanium, I weigh 190 pounds, and use a 23 mm front tire with a 25 mm rear tire. I am a strong enthusiastic rider but not a racer. All tests were recorded with a Garmin 1000.

Tire performance is unique for each rider, weight, riding style, road surface, course terrain, tire pressure, wheels used, and even the bicycle itself. What follows are some of my observations from testing and riding each of these tires at least 500 miles. Much of the testing was on the aerodynamic carbon wheels that I prefer to ride on with some on aluminium. My testing and experience is in no way all encompassing but is just offered in case you find it helpful

1. Schwalbe One's consistently gave me the fastest average speed on each of three different 25-30 mile courses. Average speed was typically 0.1 mph faster than the Vittoria's and 0.5 mph faster than the Conti GP 4000S II. The Schwalbes also rolled longer during extended flatland coasting tests, but not much more than Vittorias. The Contis slowed quickly by comparison.

2. Schwalbe One's (on ENVE wheels) had the best top speed in long downhill coasting tests. Schwalbes were notably faster than Contis on aluminum. I did not compare the Vittorias this way on the aluminum wheels, but would expect them to be as fast as the Schwalbes.

3. Schwalbes have exceptional, precise handling including wet roads. Vittorias were a close second. Contis were very good but dull compared to the others two.

4. Schwalbes have a high sense of road feel, to the point that some may prefer more cushion like with Vittorias or Contis. I chose 10 psi lower pressures than Vittorias and 5 psi lower than Conti's for the best overall performance with acceptable comfort. The Vittorias had the most forgiving feel (but definitely not at the expense of handling). My pressures for the Schwalbes are 100 front, 110 rear. They feel hash above those pressures (even at my weight) and do not perform as well anyway.

5. Shwalbes were a surprising improvement to the ROL aluminum wheels and were also the most satisfying on the aluminum w

Reviewed 5/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not the One for Me.
by Steep Road Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Taiwan
9 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

I spent half a dozen years and many thousands of miles on the GP4000s (in 23 and 25mm,) an outstanding tire that for me lacks only in ride quality. I switched to the Michelin Pro4 sc in a 25mm (that actually runs a good bit wider.) I find the ride quality to be much better than the GP4000s, but you pay for this in resistance to punctures. I rode the Pro4 sc for 2 years. I then moved to the Pro4 sc up front and Pro4 Endurance in the back. I think I lost just a touch of climbing traction. (This would be a non issue for most users, as I climb much steeper and wetter than most folks reading this.) I'm not sure if the Pro4 Endurance is as puncture resistant as the GP4000s, as I haven't run it long enough. When Schwalbe came out with the One in a 28mm, I was stoked, as I hoped I might get the ride quality I love from the Pro4 and the puncture resistance I enjoy in the GP4000s. Once mounted, the 28mm One is a touch wider than the Pro4 (25mm) and is a good bit taller. So, overall, definitely more volume. BUT - not a better ride. I've experimented a bunch with the pressure and eventually settled on 70psi rear and 65psi front, but still am not overly impressed with the ride - just feels heavy and stiffish. But the deal killer for me is that it doesn't have the climbing or braking traction of the Pro4 or GP4000, regardless of pressure. Throw in the fact that the price is rather steep and I'm going back to the Pro4sc up front and Pro4 Endurance in back - both in a 25mm (which runs closer to 28mm.) As a side note, I mounted the new GP4000sII in a 28 and it, surprisingly, is even bigger than the 28mm One. It would not clear my chain stays on my Giant Defy.

Reviewed 4/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best!
by Robert
SW Virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a big boy, 6'7 240 lbs. and it takes a lot of tire to hold me up. The Schwalbe One rolls, with a latex tube, better than any tire I have tried. Conti 4000s II tires casings give out before the tread goes, but these are staying round wo bulges so far with about a thousand miles. The biggest thing is the ultra low rolling resistance. They are amazingly fast.

Reviewed 2/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best tire
by RNS
Colorado

I'm a big boy, 6'7 240 lbs. and my weight kills lesser tires sooner than later. But so far the One remains a quiet tire with great grip and phenomenally low rolling resistance. Latex tubes, although a pain to keep inflated, are really a requirement. Buy it, you will be making a good decision.

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Was really excited to get these out on the road...
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis, CA

...until I flatted 2 miles from home. Thorn punctures in 3 different places in one wheel. Can't say I was too excited about that, although I managed to swap tubes and complete my ride. I'm hoping it was just bad luck. But I'm going to make sure I bring extra tubes and cartridges along just in case.

Reviewed 10/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like anonymous, also got two defective tires.
by Fietsdontfail
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I installed the 28 version on the rear of my road bike. The tire developed a very scary bulge after only 500 miles. I had ordered two, so I just congratulated myself on having a spare, and replaced it. After less than 100 miles it also developed a pronounced bulge. Since anonymous has recently reported the same issue, best to stay away until schwalbe acknowledges the problem and fixes it.

Reviewed 6/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It . . .was good
by Jerry
Front Range Colorado
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just over 100 miles a small slit developed allowing the tube to bulge out about 18th of an inch. I thought it was the tire. While leaning against the wall 8 hours after I noticed the bulge it exploded, the cat was not happy. Since I bought 2 tires I replaced the bad tire. After 20 miles of careful checking I assumed the problem was just the one tire. I set out for a 100 mile ride, half way through I noticed the same bulge, this time with less than 80 miles. Fortunately Boulder has plenty of bike shops.

Sidewalls so thin they cut with100psi are dangerous. Tires that can't last 100 miles should be avoided. It's a shame because I really thought these were great tires otherwise.

Reviewed 5/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fastest most dependable tire hands down
by cxracer
Competitive Racer
Langley, Canada
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried a lot of tires...and Schwable hands down is the best in my opinion. you can check and plenty of others will agree, very fast rolling, cut and flat resistance is tops, bead flexible easy on and off most rims. 26c and 28c are the choice you have to make if you want to be on top.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Happy
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern NJ
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a pair of Gatorskins with these tires. I picked these up based on some reviews indicating there is protection and can be considered a great training or endurance tire. These feel great and although i only have around 300 miles on them, seem to be pretty rugged (they withstood some direct hits to the Northern NJ potholes). Less effort rolling faster and more confident into turns with the new tires. Will see how the longevity is, if it is ok, I will definitely replace with the same tire next season.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the One
by Jerry Proctor
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My new favorite tire. 1500 miles on the front, a 1000 miles on the rear with no flats, no cuts and the contact patch is still domed, no signs of flat spots. As tough as conti's hardshells, but much better handling and cornering.

These have one quirk, they make the oddest sound sometimes when pinching debris on the road. Sometimes I don't see anything but still hear it. I assume it's fighting the battle against objects trying to cut the tire and it wins with audible success. Not getting a flat is likely luck, but the total lack of cuts is amazing.

Reviewed 9/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
200 milesweek at 130psi...nothing but Schwalbe One for me.
by A1ARider
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, FL
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I don't skimp on tires...always want the best clinchers on the market and Schwalbe One is it. I weight 225 so I probably wear out tires faster than most roadies. I use lightweight Kenda tubes and this combo bleeds off about 7 psi/day (I pump (inflate) at least every other ride. I switched from 23mm to 25mm about 3000 miles ago with the following noticeable changes 1)flat frequency decreased from low to almost never 2)max psi rating on 23mm was higher but only 130psi (9-bar) on the 25mm which makes for a more comfortable(?) ride 3)the 25mms put more rubber on the road...hard cornering feels better. I have no complaints about the wear rate.

Reviewed 6/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic Tire!
by Chicago J
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden all of the top end tires including many hand made high quality classic designs. In my experience I want a tire that is tough, smooth, fast, grippy,and does not puncture easily. I know it is a lot to ask for especially since I am 6'4 and 252lbs, but I have my favorite with the Vittoria EVO CXIII. The Schwalbe One though is really fantastic, and easily my second favorite(my wives first favorite). Please bear in mind the Schwalbe is Just as fast, even more puncture resistant, supple(though not as supple as the Vittoria), wears a little slower than the Vittoria's, and excellent grip. So why not the Schwalbe One's then? Well, when you are my size and trying to run a 25mm road tire, it requires a good deal of pressure in the rear tire, enough that my measured tire pressure required is at a higher rating than Swchalbe recommends, where as Vittoria's casing is far tougher for high pressure easily coping with my weight and inflation. My wife is only 5ft and 107lbs and she absolutely loves her Schwalbe tires! You cannot go wrong with either, just they are not exactly the same tire, and yet both the very best made today!!

Reviewed 10/3/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great race tire
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
19 of 20 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great racing tire - soft, smooth, and fast. It gives noticeably better road feel than my old training tires.

However, don't mistake these for all-around training tires. When riding on good roads, they're fine, however, when riding on rougher back roads they get cut up pretty quickly. I didn't realize this was going to be an issue and left them on my wheels for Cycle Oregon - 500 miles in 7 days on a lot of back roads in rural Oregon. HUGE mistake. First day went fine. Second day - one flat. Third day - THREE FLATS. At that point, the tires were just littered with cuts everywhere, a full-thickness hole on the tread, and a separate full thickness side-wall hole. At that point, I swapped them out for some tougher training tires and didn't have another flat all week, and there's not even a single nick on the new tires after 4 days and 300 miles of hard riding.

Reviewed 9/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As advertised
by Multi-sport
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester, NY
6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Put on Cannondale CAAD10. Used only in one Duathlon so far. Race was on dry, semi-smooth roads with normal amount of crud on shoulders. Tires were easy to mount and performed as advertised Fast (at least 1 mph faster than originals), good grip in turns and braking, and no fs. I will definitely buy these again.

Reviewed 8/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.