Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Schwalbe Marathon 20" (406)

SchwalbeMarathon 20" (406)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(10)
(1)
(4)
(1)
(74%)
(16%)
(2%)
(6%)
(2%)
Nice Tire for my 1971 Raliegh Twenty
by Oldbike1891
Casual Cyclist
Washington DC

Just starting to use it. The overall Quality seems great. I like all of the Schwable Products and this one is as well made as the others have been. Nice overall City and Touring tire as it can be pumped up and will roll. I have it on a Vintage Raliegh Twenty. I think it would work well for other more contemporary use.

Reviewed 7/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great trike tires
by NanaK
Casual Cyclist
Alabama

We bought these for my trike and were very pleased. They offer a smooth ride with good speed and security when taking fast corners. After a couple hundred miles on varied terrain, they have no visible wear. I am back on the website ordering some for my husbands trike. Also love the website and the fast free shipping.

Reviewed 6/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good tire long lasting no flats
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Good on ware and ride

Reviewed 6/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best trailer tire
by Mister Magoo
San Francisco

I swear by these for my bike trailers. I consistently haul 100s of pounds and this tire lets me travel free of pinch flat fears. High mileage and low rolling resistance.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good price on a great product.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on a tadpole recumbent trike. Schwalbe's are an excellent product. I like the Marathon for the trike better than the Marathon because the tread pattern wears better and makes less noise. I work at a bike shop, so get a cost 10 price. The price here was as good or better than I could get at the shop and I had it in my hands within 2 days. I would definitely buy from here again.

Reviewed 4/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction, CO

We use this tire on our Bike Friday tandem and it has performed well so far. It appears to be well made, we've done some limited touring with no flats.

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Put 3 on my Catrike
by Triker Bill
Lancaster, PA.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I went to the larger 20x1.75 tires on my Catrike Trail. I wanted this larger, wider tire for when I am on a gravel rail-trail. The main thing I like about this Marathon model is the uninturrupted center rib of the tread. This solid center rib gives a smoother ride on a paved trail, and the wider 1.75 tire sits more on the gravel not digging in as much. I like these tires as they are a high quality tire and have the puncture resistand liner. They are lighter than the Marathon Plus tires too. I have been running them at 60 psi. Good stuff! )

Reviewed 9/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire for heavy use Electric Recumbent
by Stoney
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Vermont
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

My SWB recumbent is outfitted with a rear-wheel geared 450W motor powered by a 48V LiOn pack mounted on a rack directly above the rear wheel. The total weight of the bike is 60 LBS. Add my 200 LBS plus occasional cargo and tires wear out fast!

The Marathon GreenGuard tires have been a great option. After 300 miles there is almost no wear, the ride is smooth and the grip is excellent. The Kendas I was using were replaced at 500 miles.

I highly recommend the Schwalbe Marathon for riders interested in a long-lasting tire with great ride characteristics. As a previous bike shop owner, racer, and family biker I rate these tires as one of the very best cruising/commuting options available.

Reviewed 8/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all-around tire
by Anonymous

For a heavy tire they are surprisingly fast and very durable. I bought these on recommendation and have been quit pleased. These are my second set.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Florence, Oregon 97439
by erw
Cycling Enthusiast
coast of oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great for touring, good protection and rolling resistance.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ore comfort and speed.
by TrikeRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Alton, illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are as comfortable at 70 lbs as the OEM tires were at 40 lbs. they defiantly roll faster and farther, as I have picked up a couple of mph in my average speed. I know they will last longer it took a couple hundred miles to wear of the thin bits of rubber left from the casting.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I wanted a better tire for my Bike Friday
by Bob
Foxboro

Schwalbe marathon offers very good protection I have had great success with the marathon tires on my full size 700 touring bike . When it came time to replace the 20 tires on my Bike Friday the choice was easy.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top of the line tire that holds the road great.
by RWS
Cycling Enthusiast
AkronCleveland, OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my TeriTrike. I do a lot of brake steering and these tire are fantastic. Hold the road great with good tread life.

Reviewed 4/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe Marathon, the gold standard for durability
by Gman
Daily Commuter
Washington State
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using these tires on my commuter for 8 years. They are my favorite commuting tire. They are almost bullet proof, and they roll fairly well. They are a bit heavy, but if your priority is to avoid flats, then the weight is worth it. The only time I get flats is when something like a nail is in the road, or when they are SUPER worn out (the green belt is showing). I've gotten one or two flats in 8 years on these. One caveat, we don't have a lot of goat heads in my area. If we had more of those, I might end up with the more durable Marathon Plus. Goat heads are so tenacious, they might get thru the kevlar on this tire, but I don't have any experience with that. For my commutes, these are A.

Oh! And you can run the 1.5 at 100psi, which is also nice.

Reviewed 12/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT TIRES
by Reciumbentman
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have run these tires for years both regular riding and touring -- great resistance to flats which is great when you are fully loaded on a tour.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gold Standard for Touring Tires
by Porkchop
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Coral, FL

I've been riding Schwalbe Marathon tires on my touring bikes for many years and consider them to be the standard by which all others are judged. This is my first set of 20 tires for a recumbent trike. So far they are just as good as the larger sizes. Only complaint is they are a bit expensive when compared to similar products from competing manufacturers,, but I guess you pay the premium for the best.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire. Smooth rolling on a recumbent trike.
by Mark
Roseburg

Bought these tires for a recumbant trike. They roll really great. Had a bigger size on a tandem. They are a heavy tire, but when strength and durability are what is important, these are your tire.

Reviewed 10/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Last the longest
by Bill V
St George

Original tires were well worn at 300 mi and the cords were showing by 400 mi. Schwalbe have 450 mi and look great

Reviewed 9/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Happy customer
by Michele
Boston

Great tires great service great price

Reviewed 9/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bomb Tire!!!
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Marathons are the best. I had the 1.75 tire that I took to Buenos Aires. The year before I had six flats in just two weeks of riding city streets. This past year with the Marathons, I had ZERO flats. The only problem with the 1.75 is that they are heavy and slow. So, I bought the 1.5 and they are lighter and much much faster (can inflate up to 100 psi vs 70). I am very happy with them cycling all over the city streets of San Francisco. The only problem is getting them on initially. They are very still and I had to go to a bike shop to get them on evenly. Great price and great service from Bike Tires!

Reviewed 9/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page