Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Ritchey Tom Slick Comp 26 Inch Tire

RitcheyTom Slick Comp 26 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(6)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(50%)
(43%)
(0%)
(7%)
(0%)
Great value
by Frankie
Nj
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have one of these for a spare after I put 900 mi on it with no issues. Shows no sign of wear. Great cheap long lasting puncture proof tire. I would have to put 3000 miles on it to evaluate it fully. But dam. For the price. You can't go wrong.

Reviewed 9/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Moves quick
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Not much time on them, but these have been great so far. The run much faster than my previous tires (26x1.5). They are tagged as 26x1, but seem to be a bit larger than than that - I would say around 1 1/8 or so.

Reviewed 12/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for commuter tire or for mountain bike conversion
by SFBC Johnny Moo
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Lauderdale

The price is right on these tires. I have two on my Cannondale hard tailhard nose M700. I converted this 20 year old mountain bike into a fast commuter. The 1 semi-slicks tires are fast, especially if you go to the max 100 PSI. I never had a problem with traction, even on wet roads. They are skinny, so they don't like sand! I just replaced the rear with the exact same, front still has a lot of life left in it. I probably got 1000 miles at least out of it. The casing separated and a bulge started and caused a blow out. My commute is hard on tires so I can't complain, I think durability was very good for the price paid. I got my monies worth!

Reviewed 12/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
so much less effort to ride versus mountain bike tires.
by jason
south texas

I use these tires on my daily commuter mountain bike and love them. They ride very solidly with no traction issues. They also have very low resistance versus the smooth 2.25 or 2.5 wide tires.

Reviewed 9/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ritchey Tom Slick, soup up your ride!
by oldcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
NW North Carolina

This is a great tire to convert an old mountain bike into a street machine! Light, and with the ability to accept 100 p.s.i. this thing really rolls. Let out a little air and one is still good to roll on the bike path or gravel roads. A very fast tire and at a pretty good price!

Reviewed 8/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good High Mileage Tire
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Used the product of a couple of years and have been satisfied. This will be the 3rd season of riding on this tire. I've been able to get about 3,000 miles of tire life the 2 times I've purchased this tire.

Reviewed 5/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value for durability
by Rocky5001
Cycling Enthusiast
Falls Church, VA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this tire for several years on smooth surfaces, commuting on my recumbent. I consistently get about 4000 miles out of them. One of them sprung a cord once, making an unsightly bulge, but it was nearly worn out by then anyway. I wouldn't use it on rough surfaces, of course.

Reviewed 4/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't last very long
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bozeman, MT
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had two tires fail within a few weeks of putting them on. One was a legitimate blow-out on rough chip-sealed asphalt but the other was a bulge and the fabric unraveling. Going to try the pro version.

Reviewed 1/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for commuting
by ultracyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Philomath, OR
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I commute to work on my StumpJumper. Since I ride this bike only on the road, the slicks work much better than knobbies on pavement. (It also makes you a little more competitive at the cat 6 races on the commute!)

I've worn a pair of these out over a period of a three seasons. I like them so much I bought another pair. I've had very few flats with the tires (but you still have to mind what you run over!)

(Don't get the PRO version of these tires. The COMPs are better. I mistakenly bought the PROs and had to take them off after a couple of weeks. The PROs puncture easily!)

Reviewed 10/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast tire with good puncture resistance - great for commuting on your mountain bike!
by Ultracyclist
Competitive Racer
Corvallis, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Buy these tires (the COMPs) and not the PROs. I've used a pair of these since 2009 (I commute about 1000 miles a year) and I decided to be proactive and replace them.

I accidentally ordered a pair of PROs and started having lots of flats. Unlucky maybe?

Well, I put the old COMPs back on until my new ones get here... These are fast tires with pretty good puncture resistance. And they're fast, just the thing you need for the Cat-6 races on your commute!! ,-)

Reviewed 7/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better ride
by mrtobias
Casual Cyclist
Columbus, Ga
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

A smoother ride now.

Reviewed 4/12/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleased with performance
by California Cyclist
Casual Cyclist
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This tire was just what I was looking for. I was looking for a cheap fast tire with low maintenance for my ride to and from work. This tire was easy to install and has noticeable improved performance over my previous Continental sports-contact tire.

Reviewed 3/30/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
quite and fast
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Just received these tires last night, they are very quite and fast. They are a great deal to turn your current mountain 26 wheels into street wheels. I hope they last the test of time, only time will tell.

Reviewed 1/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Faster
by jaken916
Casual Cyclist
West Sacramento
15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

Much faster than my old mountain bike tires....little stiffer of a ride but , seem like it changed my gear ratio, the gears that were had before are easy now ...avg speed went from 12mph to 17mph....pretty cool for that cheap.....but you will need new tubes to

Reviewed 8/11/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.