Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Portland Design Works Full Metal Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(11)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(62%)
(30%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great sturdy fenders. More robust mounting than SKS but you may need extra stuff for discs
by ericf
Daily Commuter
Upstate NY

These fenders are good looking and well made. The 'City' version works with knobby 35s (might go higher, haven't tried it).

I like the mounting system on these fenders - you aren't expected to bend the mounting arms like you are with the SKS's. It's a little bulkier, but it's more robust and way less of a pain.

My only issue with these fenders is that I couldn't affix the posts down near the dropouts on my front fork because the disc brake is in the way. The manual mentions an optional kit to do that, and I'm sure I could have figured something out at the hardware store, but I'd have been much happier had these come in the box.

As it was, my fork has mounting holes mid-fork as well, I used those, and it works, but the front fender is rattly and not as stable as it should be.

The disc brakes didn't create a problem in the back at all - because of the angle of entry for the support, they didn't get in the way there, and no extra fiddling was needed.

Reviewed 10/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for the Commuter , Work well nice design
by tryg.kouhlmann
Daily Commuter
seattle

Attached to my gravel bike to keep me dry during the rain season in the Pacific NW

Reviewed 10/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Planning ahead for the rainy season
by lars
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton, Bend, Oregon

Hard to rain fenders when it has not rained in weeks. I bought these fenders for a new multi-purpose bike (gravel, mud, rain, etc) in anticipation of the rainy season. They fit the bike well and I expect them will be permanently mounted as soon as the the monsoon season arrives.

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful fenders
by Scotty K
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA

I've installed multiple fenders, and this was one of the easier ones to put on. It's pricey, yes (hence the 4 stars on value), but I expect it to last longer than the plastic ones do.

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good enough
by ALAN
Gresham
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hard to have a truely universal fit. Was a little challenging fitting rear fender stays around my disc brakes. But still can't mount front fender because mounting bracket for fork is not long enough to reach the hole. Would imagine no problem with rim brake bikes.

Reviewed 5/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
miami

limited sizes for larger tires (700 X 47)

Reviewed 8/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High quality
by Moots1
Seattle

I've had several sets of fenders and believe these are the highest quality in terms of installation and materials. We know fenders in Seattle and I use these on my commute bike which gets the most miles - good coverage and flat black looks sweet

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders in need of some extra hardware
by Horia Neamtu
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased the wide (City) fenders to go on a Fyxation Crusher gravel bike.

Fenders are great, assembly was simple, rear fender mounting was also simple.

I am deducting 1 star from both overall and value because at this price I would expect more options for mounting the front fender.

My bike has a fork fender mounting hole on the back of the fork. The hole is higher than the included L tab hole and too low for the Portland Design Works long L tab. I am guessing the hole on the back situation is typical of carbon forks designed for disk brakes. It seems the front fender is designed for caliper brakes, only.

At this price, PDW should include maybe 1-2 other L brackets of different heights, to accommodate the various forks out there. There could also be one more mounting option for the L bracket on the front fender for hole on the back forks - as it stands the fender shifts down by the width of the fork crown.

I solved my front fender mounting problem by mounting the original L bracket on top of the fender, using some plumbing faucet seals to raise it about 4 mm. That they are made of rubber should help with rattles. Had to find a short metal strip for the inside of the fender, such that the force of the 2 nuts is distributed over a larger fender surface.

Once mounted, the fenders have stayed put and there is no rattling. Currently using them with Conti tires that measure about 30mm. To my eye, the fenders could take tires up to 35-38 mm, but I have not tried it yet.

Reviewed 4/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I can't imagine a better set of fenders.
by martinb
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent and flexible mounting options, solid and quiet, maximum coverage, look great. Be aware though that front coverage is such that wheel off fork founts won't work with these fenders. Not a criticism so much as a compromise required for dry feet.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality full protection fender
by LarryN
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on Specialized Roubaix matte black color. Installed easy. Fenders are matte black looking at bike hard to tell if bike has fenders. Fenders are very sleek. Front fender is mounted using a Sheldon Brown fender nut and stay. Rear fender is mounted using stay and plastic bracket attached to set tube. Front fender protects bottom bracket area. Rear fender protects bottom bracket, seat tube area. Both fenders protect me.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders, period.
by Hoban Washburne
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Well designed and well made, these are getting outfitted on every bike in my stable. They look clean and nice, attach rigidly without rattles, are super sturdy, and most importantly, they cover as much as they need to. Just a few inches off the ground in the front, and down past horizontal in the rear. (This is my biggest qualm with Mud Butlers, which don't cover enough.) These will keep your toes dry, and not spray everyone behind you. Nifty hardware and replaceable parts if you need them.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid and great looking
by Anonymous
seattle

Have had no issues thus far - just lots of great time riding outside with dry feet and ass!

Reviewed 3/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't live without them.
by borkborkfren
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got these fenders for my commuter and couldn't be happier. Super easy to install, have been keeping my feet clean and dry, and the metal construction makes them feel robust (and no annoying rattling). Get them!

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As good as fenders get
by blfxldr
MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A bit of creativity is required for the mounting of any fenders. These were about as straight forward as fender mounting gets. Mounted 2 pairs on two different models of the Salsa Vaya, both with disk brakes. Good ridgid feel to these fenders.

Reviewed 2/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fender but short front
by WSEA
Competitive Racer
seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The fenders are nice and built really well. My biggest issue the length of the front fender before the fork. Most of the water on my shoes comes from the spray off the front tire. Longboards seem to have to longest front to prevent a very heavy spray and these fall very short. Its weird that most fender companies don't consider the front tire spray.

Reviewed 11/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fenders
by BPBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Brush Prairie, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nicely designed, easy to install, but take your time to align. They function well, & look good. So, if you live where there is an over abundance of rain, (Pacific NW)...& need fenders to ride, these are good ones to have !!

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great fenders but take over 3 hours to be installed by a professional at a bike shop.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good if they fit
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted on C'dale CAAD10 with Shimano1011spd brakes. These are very bike dependent. Tire clearance, brake model, and drop out design will determine your success. I found the provided skewer mounts to be sleek, but made removing wheels a pain. If you have very tight drop outs andor outboard protruding head screws for your derailleur hanger, these may not work well there either. I ended up getting some p-clamps and mounting to my seat stays and fork blades. Much easier. If you go this route, you may have to trim the adjustment rods to allow you to slide them in a bit further. The rear fender is very long, likely buddy-friendly. I ended up trimming about 6 off and relocating the rear stay mounting hardware further up on the fender. This made things much stiffer and less prone to noise. These did not work well on the rear with 11spd brakes, 10spd brakes provide more clearance (I traded with a friend). I also ended up drilling a couple holes around the rear brake bridge to secure it with a zip tie and stop any rattling. The provided rear brake mount is decent, but is a cantilevered design that can allow the fender to rattle against the rear brakebridge if its pressed up against it to get adequate clearance. The front on the other hand, I mounted as-is with 11spd brake and have enough clearance for a 25mm tire, though it is fairly tight on the sides. The sides are trimmed under the fork crown on the front to provide adequate clearance. So... I ended up heavily modifying these. Not ideal for $XX, but if your bike has more tire clearance or roomier dropouts, you may have better luck thank I did.

Reviewed 7/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
by Tony
slc
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These fenders are great. Installation takes a little time but is pretty easy. They are quiet when riding and protect like theyre supposed to.

Reviewed 11/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Full-Coverage Fenders for Road Bike
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

Installation was easy. The step-by-step instructions were clear and everything went together as expected the first time, which never happens to me. Clearance with 23C road tires is fine. They are beautifully made and their full coverage was a blessing today on salt-covered roads, wet with snow run-off. After 2 hours my feet and back were completely dry and the bike much cleaner than I expected.

Reviewed 1/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page