Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Portland Design Works Full Metal Fenders

Portland Design WorksFull Metal Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(7)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(71%)
(23%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
I can't imagine a better set of fenders.
by martinb
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Excellent and flexible mounting options, solid and quiet, maximum coverage, look great. Be aware though that front coverage is such that wheel off fork founts won't work with these fenders. Not a criticism so much as a compromise required for dry feet.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid and great looking
by Anonymous
seattle

Have had no issues thus far - just lots of great time riding outside with dry feet and ass!

Reviewed 3/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As good as fenders get
by blfxldr
MN

A bit of creativity is required for the mounting of any fenders. These were about as straight forward as fender mounting gets. Mounted 2 pairs on two different models of the Salsa Vaya, both with disk brakes. Good ridgid feel to these fenders.

Reviewed 2/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fenders
by BPBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Brush Prairie, WA

Nicely designed, easy to install, but take your time to align. They function well, & look good. So, if you live where there is an over abundance of rain, (Pacific NW)...& need fenders to ride, these are good ones to have !!

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
by Anonymous

Great fenders but take over 3 hours to be installed by a professional at a bike shop.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High quality
by Moots1
Seattle

I've had several sets of fenders and believe these are the highest quality in terms of installation and materials. We know fenders in Seattle and I use these on my commute bike which gets the most miles - good coverage and flat black looks sweet

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders in need of some extra hardware
by Horia Neamtu
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased the wide (City) fenders to go on a Fyxation Crusher gravel bike.

Fenders are great, assembly was simple, rear fender mounting was also simple.

I am deducting 1 star from both overall and value because at this price I would expect more options for mounting the front fender.

My bike has a fork fender mounting hole on the back of the fork. The hole is higher than the included L tab hole and too low for the Portland Design Works long L tab. I am guessing the hole on the back situation is typical of carbon forks designed for disk brakes. It seems the front fender is designed for caliper brakes, only.

At this price, PDW should include maybe 1-2 other L brackets of different heights, to accommodate the various forks out there. There could also be one more mounting option for the L bracket on the front fender for hole on the back forks - as it stands the fender shifts down by the width of the fork crown.

I solved my front fender mounting problem by mounting the original L bracket on top of the fender, using some plumbing faucet seals to raise it about 4 mm. That they are made of rubber should help with rattles. Had to find a short metal strip for the inside of the fender, such that the force of the 2 nuts is distributed over a larger fender surface.

Once mounted, the fenders have stayed put and there is no rattling. Currently using them with Conti tires that measure about 30mm. To my eye, the fenders could take tires up to 35-38 mm, but I have not tried it yet.

Reviewed 4/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fenders
by Tony
slc

These fenders are great. Installation takes a little time but is pretty easy. They are quiet when riding and protect like theyre supposed to.

Reviewed 11/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality full protection fender
by LarryN
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on Specialized Roubaix matte black color. Installed easy. Fenders are matte black looking at bike hard to tell if bike has fenders. Fenders are very sleek. Front fender is mounted using a Sheldon Brown fender nut and stay. Rear fender is mounted using stay and plastic bracket attached to set tube. Front fender protects bottom bracket area. Rear fender protects bottom bracket, seat tube area. Both fenders protect me.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders, period.
by Hoban Washburne
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Well designed and well made, these are getting outfitted on every bike in my stable. They look clean and nice, attach rigidly without rattles, are super sturdy, and most importantly, they cover as much as they need to. Just a few inches off the ground in the front, and down past horizontal in the rear. (This is my biggest qualm with Mud Butlers, which don't cover enough.) These will keep your toes dry, and not spray everyone behind you. Nifty hardware and replaceable parts if you need them.

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't live without them.
by borkborkfren
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

Got these fenders for my commuter and couldn't be happier. Super easy to install, have been keeping my feet clean and dry, and the metal construction makes them feel robust (and no annoying rattling). Get them!

Reviewed 1/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fender but short front
by WSEA
Competitive Racer
seattle
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The fenders are nice and built really well. My biggest issue the length of the front fender before the fork. Most of the water on my shoes comes from the spray off the front tire. Longboards seem to have to longest front to prevent a very heavy spray and these fall very short. Its weird that most fender companies don't consider the front tire spray.

Reviewed 11/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fenders for a road bike
by Waldemar
New York

I installed these fenders about a month ago. They were really simple to attach to my Specialized road bike. They look great on the bike, they aren't very noticable, and work really well. In my opinion, you wont be dissapointed if you buy these fenders.

Reviewed 8/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good if they fit
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southeast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted on C'dale CAAD10 with Shimano1011spd brakes. These are very bike dependent. Tire clearance, brake model, and drop out design will determine your success. I found the provided skewer mounts to be sleek, but made removing wheels a pain. If you have very tight drop outs andor outboard protruding head screws for your derailleur hanger, these may not work well there either. I ended up getting some p-clamps and mounting to my seat stays and fork blades. Much easier. If you go this route, you may have to trim the adjustment rods to allow you to slide them in a bit further. The rear fender is very long, likely buddy-friendly. I ended up trimming about 6 off and relocating the rear stay mounting hardware further up on the fender. This made things much stiffer and less prone to noise. These did not work well on the rear with 11spd brakes, 10spd brakes provide more clearance (I traded with a friend). I also ended up drilling a couple holes around the rear brake bridge to secure it with a zip tie and stop any rattling. The provided rear brake mount is decent, but is a cantilevered design that can allow the fender to rattle against the rear brakebridge if its pressed up against it to get adequate clearance. The front on the other hand, I mounted as-is with 11spd brake and have enough clearance for a 25mm tire, though it is fairly tight on the sides. The sides are trimmed under the fork crown on the front to provide adequate clearance. So... I ended up heavily modifying these. Not ideal for $XX, but if your bike has more tire clearance or roomier dropouts, you may have better luck thank I did.

Reviewed 7/16/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Full-Coverage Fenders for Road Bike
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

Installation was easy. The step-by-step instructions were clear and everything went together as expected the first time, which never happens to me. Clearance with 23C road tires is fine. They are beautifully made and their full coverage was a blessing today on salt-covered roads, wet with snow run-off. After 2 hours my feet and back were completely dry and the bike much cleaner than I expected.

Reviewed 1/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First a fall then the rain
by justaguy
West of Portland

I had theses fenders mounted on my GT Grade and my first time out I wore my new cleated shoes but I stopped and couldn't unfasten them as I fell over with the bike on top of me. The rear fender caught me and popped loose from its mount but was undamaged and easily refit into place so that a bruised leg and ego were the only damage I sustained. Last night I took my bike out for a ride in the rain and was pleased that the fenders kept the water off of me and was channelling the spray forward and behind me. Adding the fenders to my bike was a very good move for me as they have already proven themselves to be a quality product, sturdily made, and very effective with wet road surfaces.

Reviewed 1/15/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit great and keep road grime in its place
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

All around a good well fitted fender set. Plenty of hardware to modify attachment options. Only weak point are the plastic termination points used for the wire stabilizers. One broke during install.

Reviewed 5/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome fenders
by Anonymous

Super easy install and then work perfect. They look super great as well!

Reviewed 5/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Nice Product!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was using a set of Planet Bike fenders which are a decent fender and fairly inexpensive. I purchased the PDW fenders because I thought they would match the look of my custom bike better. The PDW fenders are hands down the nicest fenders I have used and the setup was similar to SKS or Planet Bike fenders. Coverage is just right using the 45mm fenders with my rain bikes 32mm tires. One unexpected side benefit is I have less toe overlap with these fenders, probably due to the flat top profile.

Reviewed 11/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My bike is a co-motion the fenders fit perfectly
by Anonymous

If you want great looking and great quality get these fenders from Portland Design works. The bike looks good with these fenders. And the keep your feet dryer with them.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page