Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Panaracer Gravel King 700c Tire

PanaracerGravel King 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(63%)
(26%)
(4%)
(4%)
(4%)
Not as good as Compass, but a good option for half the price.
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got the 700x38 version with tanwalls. My first impression is that they ride harsh in comparison to the Compass tires in the same size. I dropped both front and rear by 5 psi (running 3540 & I weigh around 170) and they felt much better. I did pick up a piece of glass on my last ride. These have a tougher casing than the Compass tires, but a significantly thinner tread, hence the lighter weight. These would also be a better tubeless option than the Compass. But these arent as comfortable as the Compass and they dont have the same feel. Still a great option for a do it all tire.

Reviewed 3/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
32mm - Great tire for all round riding with packed dirt.
by MadFiberRide
Competitive Racer
Seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Used on a go-for-coffee bike and general commuter on a route that includes some hilly grass sections and trails. Very nice riding and they feel fast.

No flats yet. If you are getting 5 flats in 100 miles, there is something other than the tire causing a problem.

Reviewed 3/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for dirty roads
by The Dude
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

So far this is a great winter road tire in the PNW where we routinely have tree, sand, gravel and other debris from winter storms all over the B-roads.

Seems grippy on wet and damp roads, not deterred by left over road sanding from snow storms.

Confident wet and dirty asphalt corners, paint stripes don't seem too scary. Comfortable ride.

While the clothing-cafe types are busy dodging pellets and ruining their carbon rims in February you can pretty comfortably hold the line and roll right over whatever.

32s seem a bit squirmy at high speeds when at medium pressures, but that shouldn't surprise anyone. A race tire this is not.

Time will tell how they hold up to our urban debris (read glass) and horrible roads. I've found some Panaracers to be more delicate than other brands, so I'll be keeping a close eye out for shredding or cuts.

So far on track for 5 stars, but too soon and trajectory could always change.

So far, so good.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
looks good, tight fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Haven't ridden them yet. Like the file tread. Not too heavy.

Very tight fit! Doubt if I could change a flat on the road.

First tried to mount on Mavic MA2. I absolutely couldn't. Feared bending the rim.

Did mount them on different wheels, but it wasn't easy.

Reviewed 2/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Goes wherever I want to go
by Rut Rider
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have these on two of my bikes and they are my favorite all around tire. I can turn an ordinary road ride to a trip through Forest Park without doubting my decision to do so. Ive ridden these through miles of gravel road and they grip exceedingly well and out many many road miles and they roll like any ordinary road tire. Ive never slipped in the rain and Ive only had one flat since Ive owned them. Its not a cross tire, but for those back road explorations you cant go wrong.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect when running tubeless
by kj2169
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have these in the 32mm, and I've really enjoyed the nice ride on our post-apocalyptic roads here in Chicago as well as on gravel (crushed limestone). I have had one pinch-flat after hitting a massive pothole that would have crippled any tire running a tube.

I now have them set up tubeless on a pair of HED Ardennes Plus, and they are fantastic. They mounted quite easily, and they've held air nicely (used Stan's sealant with Stan's valves). I couldn't find much information on running these (the non-SK Gravel Kings) tubeless, but I've now put 850 miles on them tubeless, and they've been nothing but great.

Reviewed 9/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires
by Edward Grey
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, in
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Great fires, my bike came with 700-38c Schwalbe Road Plus commuting style tires. They felt like molasses and had a ton of rolling resistance. They felt ok on corners but i never wanted to take anything too tight, especially as speed at speed. not great traction in dirt, they got squirmy fast. I got these in 700x32c and they feel great. they corner much better, and roll sooooo much better. i have not had to take them through dirt yet but they feel so much better already. the only downside is it took me about 2 hours, tire levers, and one pinched tube to get them on. they are a TIGHT fit. great tires, I will buy again.

Reviewed 7/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than my old gatorskins! My new favorite winter training road tire.
by Anonymous
Oregon
17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

Gravel kings have been great! I was a little worried it would be too much tire tread for how much road riding I do but I love them. There's so much crap on the road this time of year they definitely provide some extra security. 28's are the way to go! No issues on group rides at all or holding my speed plus it's nice knowing if I want to take a detour on some fire roads i can link all kinds of new rides together. I've ridden them anywhere from 80 to 105 psi, no pinch flats or flats at all. I've put at least 500 miles on them already & they still look brand new.

Reviewed 2/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Tire
by durishange
Pittsburgh, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like the tires. They roll nicely. I use them on commutes and training rides. Any flats have occurred because I failed to inflate fully. That's my fault, not the tires. I've ridden on some rail trail, road and some service roads. I would repurchase.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable tire that won't slow you down
by rrnsd
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

Great tire, was able to buy a few pairs on sale around $37 each. No complaints

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not a King for Portland Winter Commuting
by Clay
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try the Gravel Kings after using Conti 4 Season, Panaracer Pasella, and a couple of others. Initially I loved them. They have a nice feel and I felt confident descending the hill from work on wet roads. I made the mistake of saying I haven't had a flat yet. Well, then there was the harsher than normal winter here in Portland and the city of Portland doing a piss poor job of keeping the streetspaths clean. I had 3 flats in a week. The tire is littered with cuts. It may be a Gravel King but not a Portland winter commuting King. That said, I will probably get another set for spring and summer commutingriding because I do love the way they ride.

Reviewed 4/1/2017
TriSports.com Comments
Thanks for the review Clay, the roads this winter in Portland were harsh on most tires.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth riding on rugged roads
by Adam
Portland OR

With a 127 TPI casing the Gravel King is a supple ride. Just a little wider so you can run a lower pressure and quite puncture resistant.

Reviewed 2/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent gravel tire and in 26 and 28mm also great for winter season road training
by Peloton21
Cycling Enthusiast
Greater Boston
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Originally I got a set of these to do a gravel ride. The tires performed very well and then I kept them for the winter road training (new england). The 26mm tires are very puncture proof. They are narrower than the Continental GP4000S II 25mm, which measure 28mm on Velocity A23 rims.

Highly recommend.

Reviewed 10/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid tire for road to gravel, low grip
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The 700x28 has been a good tire for both the pavement and graveldirt road rides. The tire is ideal for gravel grinders and gran fondos that feature lots of pavement with smooth dirtgravel mixed in. The tire doesn't have enough volume or tread to inspire riding with abandon on sharp large gravelcobblespall roads, where you really want something bigger and beefier. It's a great tire for cruising around town in the winter too, and I really haven't noticed it being a lot slower than the slick 25's on my other road bike.

Reviewed 12/22/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth rolling tire
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is for the 32mm tire, mounted with tubes on DT Swiss RR440 rims. They went on with no problems, used a tire lever for the last little bit, probably could have done it by hand. They bead snapped on and they look great, perfectly round and the tread is really nice and straight. I weigh 180 and have been running them around 60-65lbs and they ride great, don't feel slow at all. I have been using them a couple of months and they measure out just a tic under 32mm. I also have the 35mm and they plumped out to 38mm right away. Great ride on the road and on the dirt. Great tire at a great price, would buy again.

Reviewed 9/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for purpose
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got 28 mm for my road bike to use it on rail-to-trail paths. Tire provides comfort and good grip in wet conditions. Works great on the pavement as well while being lightweight. I've put around 200 miles on it so can't tell about durability yet.

Reviewed 9/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great companion on 500 mile tour
by AK_JC
Cycling Enthusiast
Alaska

Bought this for a 500 mile tour on my regular road bike with 8 pound seat post pack. They worked great! Smooth ride and durable noflats

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best 28s I have used!
by Tarwheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

The Panaracer Gravel King 28s are the tire I've been looking for to use for commuting. They are durable, reasonably light weight, roll nice and provide a plush ride. On Dyad rims, they measure 30 mm wide, and should measure a true 28 mm wide on narrow rims like Open Pros. Other 28s that I've tried include Continental GP 4 Seasons, Vittoria Rubinos, Panaracer Pasela TGs and Rivendell Ruffy Tuffys - and the Gravel Kings are far better than all of these. The Conti 4 Seasons are just as light but much narrower (closer to 26 mm wide) and harsher riding. The Rubinos are also much narrower than billed (26 mm) with ride quality similar to the Contis. The Ruffy Tuffys were close to advertised width (27.5 mm) but much heavier with higher rolling resistance than others. The Paselas were close to advertised with and relatively light weight but do not roll as smoothly as the Gravel Kings.

Reviewed 1/11/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Supple ride but no puncture protection
by jojo
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I tried this tire as a fall, winter tire in 25 and 28, and had expected some durability, but lots of flats so i gave up on it. May be good on grave, and rides nicely with a supple ride, but not worth the hassle for me. Back to vreds senso extremes and vittoria paves again. Also like the conti 4 seasons. Those are all great that i have had good luck with. May try Schwalbe One as well next.

Reviewed 4/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Confidence in the dirt!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco

I've used both the 32mm and 28mm versions of this tire on varying mixed terrain rides. They are lightweight (120TPI) yet very durable, and give me confidence when the pavement turns to gravel.

Reviewed 4/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page