Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Panaracer Gravel King 700c Tire

PanaracerGravel King 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(8)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(66%)
(23%)
(6%)
(3%)
(3%)
Great tires!
by villa891
Cycling Enthusiast
Olathe, KS

I bought these tire to replace a set of Compass Bon Jon tires (which I liked a lot) and have been pleased so far. Panaracer makes tires for Compass so I knew the quality of the tire and at a better price. I run these tires at 50psi when I ride the road and drop down to 40psi when riding gravel. I love how they respond on either surface.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
wish it was more supple
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

good value, but rides a big harsh. for slicks i prefer compass over gravel kings.

Reviewed 6/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
32mm - Great tire for all round riding with packed dirt.
by MadFiberRide
Competitive Racer
Seattle
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Used on a go-for-coffee bike and general commuter on a route that includes some hilly grass sections and trails. Very nice riding and they feel fast.

No flats yet. If you are getting 5 flats in 100 miles, there is something other than the tire causing a problem.

Reviewed 3/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best IndianaMidwest Road Tires
by AMH
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Absolutely love these tires. I could just stop there, but they really are a game changer for me.

On a Niner RLT Steel, with Next 28XM wheels. The wheels are pretty wide internally, and spread the tire nicely. I'm riding on typical IndianaMidwest chip and seal, gravel, and dirt roads. They soak up all the buzz, all the noise, roll like race tires (setup tubeless 40psi), and corner nicely. I've got no reservations cornering with them on all but the roughest, loosest gravel.

They set up tubeless reasonably well, with a bit of fidgeting, but no real issues. I've got around 750 miles on them, and they're starting to wear a little, though nothing frightening. I'd highly recommend these.

Reviewed 5/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic tires!
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What I was shopping for in a bike tire tubeless ready, 36 mm, smooth road tire. My wife purchased a set of Compass tires last year and loves them. I later learned her Compass tires are manufactured by Panaracer.

Installation and tubeless set up was not the easiest experience. I mounted the tires to 25mm WTB rims. Mounting to those rims was the challenge as the design is unique to WTB. They have been outstanding however and very much worth effort need to set them up.

I have just passed the 500 mile point with the set. I believe I could get 2,000 additional miles out of the set. They are comfortable and confident on the road. I have not attempted to ride through greasy mud or thick loose soil. The tread is not aggressive nor designed for those conditions. I have enjoyed some singly track and not very technical off-road riding. The tires handled everything flawlessly.

So if your looking for a tire that is tubeless, capable through multiple terrains, durable, and good looking - Pick up a set!

Reviewed 5/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Anonymous
minneapolis

Fast rolling, puncture resistant (so far)

Relatively easy to set up tubeless.

They wouldnt seat on my rims without a compressor, and wouldnt hold air without sealant, but thats not a problem for me.

On the road at 55-60psi theyre very comfortable.

Reviewed 5/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast , low rolling resistance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, ny
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If your looking for a great dual purpose tarmac , gravel tire this is it. Well, for very smooth gravel and Hardpack. Very fast on regular roads with higher pressure. Even in the 38-40 size. Great tire!

Reviewed 4/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast , low rolling resistance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, ny
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If your looking for a great dual purpose tarmac , gravel tire this is it. Well, for very smooth gravel and Hardpack. Very fast on regular roads with higher pressure. Even in the 38-40 size. Great tire!

Reviewed 5/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Enjoying the 700 x 38 Tubeless
by celilo
Casual Cyclist
Amelia Island, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have a couple of hundred miles on these tires, so this is really just a first impressions review.

Even though these are tubeless ready, I intended to run them with tubes. I moved from New Mexico to Florida and no longer fight goat-heads on every ride.

I had been running Hutchinson Sector 28's on a ghetto tubeless setup and they were great tires while they lasted, both the initial and warranty replacement Sectors had the sidewall separate from the bead. I thought that the Sectors were the most difficult tire to mount, but the Gravel Kings gave edged them out.

I ended up removing the tubes and mounting tubeless to give me the bit more space needed to get the Gravel Kings mounted. It was still a struggle even with a Tire Bead Jack. I imagine that these are generally a tight mounting tire, but they would probably go on much easier with a true tubeless rim. I'm on a budget)

While not as fast as my Sectors, moving to a 38 Gravel King makes my Cross Bike ride extraordinarily comfortable. I can keep my butt on the seat over terrain, like uneven sidewalks, that would previously have forced me to either stand off of my seat or visit the proctologist. The ride is acceptably fast for a tire with the comfort and traction offered by the Gravel King with acceptably low rolling resistance.

In Florida I deal with a lot of blown sand and I comfortable attack my ride through such obstacles. That said, this will not work, nor did I expect such, in deeper sand.

Durability is still out, but I've run over a bunch of stuff strewn into the bike lane and steered off road to avoid oncoming bikes and pedestrians without issue in the brief period that I've been running these tires. I've yet to get sprayed with Stan's tire sealant, not even small punctures to this point. That's OK, I had a virtual Stan's shower on the last few miles of my Sectors.

Early verdict is that I would highly recommend these for someone seeking a comfortable and secure ride for road and light off-road riding. Mounting is the only downside and that issue is likely less of a problem for other rims. I'm never going back to 28s or smaller unless I have a second dedicated road bike.

Reviewed 4/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not as good as Compass, but a good option for half the price.
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got the 700x38 version with tanwalls. My first impression is that they ride harsh in comparison to the Compass tires in the same size. I dropped both front and rear by 5 psi (running 3540 & I weigh around 170) and they felt much better. I did pick up a piece of glass on my last ride. These have a tougher casing than the Compass tires, but a significantly thinner tread, hence the lighter weight. These would also be a better tubeless option than the Compass. But these arent as comfortable as the Compass and they dont have the same feel. Still a great option for a do it all tire.

Reviewed 3/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than my old gatorskins! My new favorite winter training road tire.
by Anonymous
Oregon
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

Gravel kings have been great! I was a little worried it would be too much tire tread for how much road riding I do but I love them. There's so much crap on the road this time of year they definitely provide some extra security. 28's are the way to go! No issues on group rides at all or holding my speed plus it's nice knowing if I want to take a detour on some fire roads i can link all kinds of new rides together. I've ridden them anywhere from 80 to 105 psi, no pinch flats or flats at all. I've put at least 500 miles on them already & they still look brand new.

Reviewed 2/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect when running tubeless
by kj2169
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have these in the 32mm, and I've really enjoyed the nice ride on our post-apocalyptic roads here in Chicago as well as on gravel (crushed limestone). I have had one pinch-flat after hitting a massive pothole that would have crippled any tire running a tube.

I now have them set up tubeless on a pair of HED Ardennes Plus, and they are fantastic. They mounted quite easily, and they've held air nicely (used Stan's sealant with Stan's valves). I couldn't find much information on running these (the non-SK Gravel Kings) tubeless, but I've now put 850 miles on them tubeless, and they've been nothing but great.

Reviewed 9/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for dirty roads
by The Dude
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

So far this is a great winter road tire in the PNW where we routinely have tree, sand, gravel and other debris from winter storms all over the B-roads.

Seems grippy on wet and damp roads, not deterred by left over road sanding from snow storms.

Confident wet and dirty asphalt corners, paint stripes don't seem too scary. Comfortable ride.

While the clothing-cafe types are busy dodging pellets and ruining their carbon rims in February you can pretty comfortably hold the line and roll right over whatever.

32s seem a bit squirmy at high speeds when at medium pressures, but that shouldn't surprise anyone. A race tire this is not.

Time will tell how they hold up to our urban debris (read glass) and horrible roads. I've found some Panaracers to be more delicate than other brands, so I'll be keeping a close eye out for shredding or cuts.

So far on track for 5 stars, but too soon and trajectory could always change.

So far, so good.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires
by Edward Grey
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, in
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Great fires, my bike came with 700-38c Schwalbe Road Plus commuting style tires. They felt like molasses and had a ton of rolling resistance. They felt ok on corners but i never wanted to take anything too tight, especially as speed at speed. not great traction in dirt, they got squirmy fast. I got these in 700x32c and they feel great. they corner much better, and roll sooooo much better. i have not had to take them through dirt yet but they feel so much better already. the only downside is it took me about 2 hours, tire levers, and one pinched tube to get them on. they are a TIGHT fit. great tires, I will buy again.

Reviewed 7/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
looks good, tight fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Haven't ridden them yet. Like the file tread. Not too heavy.

Very tight fit! Doubt if I could change a flat on the road.

First tried to mount on Mavic MA2. I absolutely couldn't. Feared bending the rim.

Did mount them on different wheels, but it wasn't easy.

Reviewed 2/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Tire
by durishange
Pittsburgh, PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like the tires. They roll nicely. I use them on commutes and training rides. Any flats have occurred because I failed to inflate fully. That's my fault, not the tires. I've ridden on some rail trail, road and some service roads. I would repurchase.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable tire that won't slow you down
by rrnsd
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire, was able to buy a few pairs on sale around $37 each. No complaints

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Goes wherever I want to go
by Rut Rider
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have these on two of my bikes and they are my favorite all around tire. I can turn an ordinary road ride to a trip through Forest Park without doubting my decision to do so. Ive ridden these through miles of gravel road and they grip exceedingly well and out many many road miles and they roll like any ordinary road tire. Ive never slipped in the rain and Ive only had one flat since Ive owned them. Its not a cross tire, but for those back road explorations you cant go wrong.

Reviewed 2/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not a King for Portland Winter Commuting
by Clay
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try the Gravel Kings after using Conti 4 Season, Panaracer Pasella, and a couple of others. Initially I loved them. They have a nice feel and I felt confident descending the hill from work on wet roads. I made the mistake of saying I haven't had a flat yet. Well, then there was the harsher than normal winter here in Portland and the city of Portland doing a piss poor job of keeping the streetspaths clean. I had 3 flats in a week. The tire is littered with cuts. It may be a Gravel King but not a Portland winter commuting King. That said, I will probably get another set for spring and summer commutingriding because I do love the way they ride.

Reviewed 4/1/2017
TriSports.com Comments
Thanks for the review Clay, the roads this winter in Portland were harsh on most tires.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth riding on rugged roads
by Adam
Portland OR

With a 127 TPI casing the Gravel King is a supple ride. Just a little wider so you can run a lower pressure and quite puncture resistant.

Reviewed 2/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page