Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin Pro4 Comp Service Course Tire

MichelinPro4 Comp Service Course Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(2)
(53%)
(20%)
(7%)
(7%)
(13%)
Mounted size is skinny!
by David in CA
Competitive Racer
CA

I mistakenly ordered these Comps instead of the standard Service Course version and so much time had passed that I felt I shouldn't or couldn't return them-how bad could they be after all? When I finally mounted them (mostly had been MTB'ing, hence the delay using them), I found they run considerable narrower and lower profile than the standard SCs. The standard 23mms are 24.6mm mounted and are taller-almost a full 25mm. These measure in a 22.3mm. They have a harsher ride and felt sketchy in turns because of their narrowness. One ride and I was done with them, I'm saving them for use on the trainer.

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
fast, great handling tire
by NE-P5
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Im on my 4th pair of Michelin Pro 4 Comp Service Course tires and although my results have been different than other reviewers, Im back for more (hopefully no more flats). I had three flats on the rear last season (and while Ill agree to some extent, that they are tough to pull on 23C tire over a 25mm rim, they certainly are not impossible Northwest Frank). On the other hand, putting a reinforced cut sidewall 23C on my stock 23mm rim for the trainer was a breeze.

The main reason I opt for the Pro4 Comp over the GP 4000S II is that I need red side walls (ok call me vain) but until Continental gets their act together and starts manufacturing colored side wall 4000Ss they are the best choice for my needs. I just wish the sidewalls were a bit more puncture resistant. The first two flats were due to a fine steel belt wire which missed my sweep on the first flat because it angled the same direction as my sweep. On the second flat one week later, I sweep both directions (clockwise & counterclockwise) finding the little prick. Pun intended. Third flat was on a fast straight run where I failed to avoid a small rock, I felt it, hears it pop out to the side and a second later felt the flat of a punctured sidewall. Thats my only fault with the Pro 4 Comp. After reading another had sidewall issues with the Contis makes me think this is not even a tire reliability issue but only dumb luck. So well see how this new set holds up this season, keeping our eyes open for small rocks. Last year was 3,500 fast, comfortable, agile miles.

Reviewed 3/18/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires are dangerous. The sidewalls are paper and will rupture where they were folded in box.
by lance
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay area
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used to exclusively use Michelin (Pro, service, comp, 3, 4, all the marketing names). I loved the handling, puncture resistance and overall durability. Never cheap, but a no-joke tire. I have thrown away at least 5 of these in the last year - I bought several and got some as gifts. I wear out several tires per year.

But these Pro 4 are simply dangerous. The sidewalls are rubbish. They will rupture at the shipping fold within a few hundred miles. If small debris touches it will split. Today I had a tube cut inside the casing after a careful RxR crossing (but amazingly the sidewall didnt blow out this time). I've had to insert Gorilla tape inside casing several times just so I could ride to the bike shop for a new tire. If you ride these tires inspect before and during every ride, descend slowly, buy an honest tire, and thank god you didnt have a front blowout at speed. I will never ride Michelin again car, truck, mc or bike. Not just junk dangerous!

Lance

and I wanted to give these zero stars but forced into One star. A lie

Reviewed 9/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very hard to mount
by Frank
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have no issue with the way these tires ride...they're grippy, fast and handle with confidence.

My issue is with how hard they are to mount. I had a helluva time getting these on and want to let you know if you have a tight wheelset - be warned, these are a pain.

I sent them back. I have no confidence I'll be able to get back if I flat in the rain and cold 40 miles from home.

Reviewed 8/13/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best bang for your buck
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are great for training, and for low level racing.

Reviewed 4/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice and Fast!
by kghickman
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockwall, Tx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like tires that are fast and will grip the road. These tires do both very well!

Reviewed 4/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire !!
by Cycle2Live
Texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great road tire and excellent tire especially for long distance. I have used this for at least 2 years with no problems. Very very few flats.

Reviewed 4/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not durable at all.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Southern California
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

This tires will not last long at all, 1 race and is gone. I don't have an issue with the price, good things cost money. However you expect a little more quality.

Apparently there is no warranty left when they crack.

Over all they are light but not worth the money and the flats on the road. I wish I can get a least 1000 miles on the tires but I didn't.

Reviewed 11/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth ride on rough roads - Very pleased
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Plano TEXAS

smooth ride on rough roads - Very pleased

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Some good, some bad
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Actually seem more durable than the GP4000's. Haven't flatted on my normal routes and can expect the GP 4000's to puncture a couple times per month. Seem fast, although I can say no noticeable gains over the GP's, in fact I'd say marginally slower. The biggest issue has to due with it's actual width.... a 23c tire is not a 23, unless it's on a HED Ardennes Plus super wide rim, then maybe. In fact, it is narrower than a 22 Continental Attack on the same rim.

Reviewed 9/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires!
by RedSled
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I previously had several sets of Michelin Pro 3 Service Course tires, and felt they were excellent. They handled well wet and dry, had good grip, braked well, and provided good flat resistance. The (relatively) new Pro 4 Service Course has a somewhat different cross section shape and handles a bit differently. It turns in quicker (without being twitchy) and settles into a turn with a tenacious grip that give the rider a marked sense of security. It feels like it has more grip than the Pro 3, with no downside. It also feel more supple, more like a tubular than any other clincher clincher I have used. Most of my riding buddies have switched over to the Pro 4. It weighs only 200g, a bonus, and service life is good. There is a version called the Pro 4 Service Course 4 Comp, which is 20g lighter which I am using now. It feels exactly the same, but I'm thinking it may be wearing a bit faster than the regular version. All in all, outstanding ties.

Reviewed 8/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable ride and they roll excellent.
by kelly_ray
Cycling Enthusiast
West Linn, OR
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try the pro4 comps after having sidewall issues with my last two Conti 4000s tires. The pro4s have a more comfortable ride and roll as fast as the Contis with less air pressure. This is my first set and I do a lot of riding, I hope they last as long as the 4000s. So far I have at least 700 miles on them and they are still going great. The rear one is just starting to show some wear in the center.

Reviewed 7/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quick, nice handling tire.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

After two satisfied years riding Michelin 3s it was time to try a pair Pro 4 Comp Service Course tires. Hard to mount, but they feel fast and corner better - maybe the new profile really works. They sound a bit loud, like riding on wet pavement. Not sure about durability yet, but after four 50-mile rides including several passes over the same broken Heinekin bottle, they show no cuts.

Reviewed 7/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pro race -4
by DosXX
Cycling Enthusiast
New orleans
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I used to ride pro race2 and loved the overall performance, rolling resistance and durability. Flats were infrequent. They were replaced w pro race-3 which were more fragile and flatted all the time. I stopped using them and switched to vredstein tricomps which is a great training tire. Tried the prorace -4 now for several months and they seem to be similar to the pro race -2 . Fast,comfortable and flat free! I guess Michelin got the message..

Reviewed 7/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire I've ever used.
by cyclingracer68
Henderson,KY
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I use this tire for road riding, road racing and crit racing. Handles corners very well. I like these better then the Pro3 not as soft and last longer. I don't know if I had a bad set but I've experenced cracking on the outside like a tire that is dry rotted but not. Never blew a tire but changed them out when they got worse. That's the other good thing. I've never had a flat on these Pro4 Tires.

Reviewed 5/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.