X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin Lithion 2 Tire

MichelinLithion 2 Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(77 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(33)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(52%)
(43%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Solid tire for the money
by CCL
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these tires about 5 months ago and I've put about a 1000 miles into them.

No flats and good grip. Also, I've been running lower pressures (80-90 psi) reliably.

Good performance tires and a great value. Would rate 5 but it needs at least another 1k miles to earn it.

Reviewed 10/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good, will know better after a few thousand miles.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Mount Prospect IL
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Recreational riding mostly suburban area.

Reviewed 11/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
25's are huge
by Marquis
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I don't quite get all the love for these tires. They're inexpensive and have a pretty plush ride at the low pressures they recommend. But I definitely don't find them anywhere near fast or quick.

The 25s are huge. I think I saw balloon tires used to describe these and I concur. Took off a set of 25 Vittoria Rubino Pro Slicks and put the Lithions on. I could barely get them in the frame. So I measured. The Lithion 25s are 27mm wide and 28mm high on my Kinlin rims. The Rubino Slick 25s are 25mm wide and 26mm high.

I took the Lithions off my hardcore road bike and put them on the cyclocross bike I now use to commute. That's a more fitting use.

Reviewed 9/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durability and price best sums it up.
by MDWYdave
Cycling Enthusiast
Medway, MA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a new bike last summer that came with these mounted on them. I will be the first to admit, I've never been a huge fan of Michelin tires. Thought they were fragile. I took the Lithion 2's off and put on my go fast tires for the rest of the summer. In the fall when leaves and twigs started to fall, I opted to put the L2's back on figuring I'd cut them all up and put my usual off-season tire on. I was pleasantly surprised!!!

In cycling, as in life, there are certain trade offs. In the case of the off-season training tire, there is the three legged stool of durability, price, and performance. IMHO, the Lition 2 finds a balance of the three. You can get tires with greater durability and comparable performance, but they cost twice as much. You can find tires which are more durable for around the same price, but they feel like they are made out of cement.

Conti's prices have escalated to the point where I can go through two pairs of these and be ahead of the game in $$ and miles. (Although I've yet to see anything wear like a Conti, it doesn't have twice the life of these.)

The only downside I've seen so far is they were a bear to get over my Fulcrum wheels.

Reviewed 9/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have about 1,000 miles and never had a flat
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, ca
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I train and ride on streets,some rough roads too and never any problems

Reviewed 8/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good resilient training tire.
by MTCanuck
Competitive Racer
Rocky Mountains
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Mounts easily by hand, good thread count to make the ride supple on the chip sealed roads in my home area. Solid tire, rolls nicely. Not a high end tire, but a good value for price and performance.

Reviewed 8/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very good everyday tire.
by Alisha
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon coast
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the tire because it matched my red/white/blue bike. The tire tread was wider than expected and the tire does ride a little hard. Overall this has been a very good tire for everyday training. Only 300mi, so cannot rate the durability.

Reviewed 8/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great all around tire!
by RCN
Cycling Enthusiast
southern Utah
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used this tire for a few hundred miles of training on average to rough roadways in southern Utah. I have had no issues and they seem to be holding up well. Great tire for the price.

Reviewed 7/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good performance and value
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

not the longest lasting tire, but can't beat the price. I got tired of buying $50 tires only to see them get destroyed on roads and having to throw away when it had lots of life in them. Instead I buy these now and although I seem to replace them a bit more often than say a Continental, I don't cry over a gash

Reviewed 7/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't beat the price and performance
by Kashy
Competitive Racer
Santa Rosa, CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic traction, and the tire lasts plenty long. I used to pay much more for fancier German tires until I realized they get holes in them and become useless due to all the things they hit on the road while training. This tire is just as good, perhaps has better traction, and if I tear a hole in it, I won't be bummed that I spent $60 on it. This is my go to training tire.

Reviewed 5/30/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding tire!
by PastorPoullard
Cycling Enthusiast
Waldorf, Maryland
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I am a cycling enthusiast and usually ride between 150 and 250 miles a week. I've ordered 4 pairs of these tires since last year. I put close to 1000 miles on my last pair...with no problems. I got rid of them...not because of any issues other than that I was always told to replace tires after 600-700 miles. These tires are awesome. They are durable and roll well. I highly recommend them!

Reviewed 4/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
easy on tire
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
fremont, ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I haven't really put enough miles on to give a real road appraisal of these tires but I can tell you this, After struggling thru destroying numerous inner tubes trying to get vittoria zaffiro pro's on my A23 rims, this tire slipped on easily in 3-4 minutes.... I dunno why the combination of a23 and zaffiros was so hard to install but it wasn't a fluke, tried numerous tires and ended up throwing in the towel...

Reviewed 4/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for the money. Easy to mount, good grip, & so far durability seems good.
by gary1406
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire for the money. Mounted up easily and holds air well. The center bead on the tread to very firm but the sidewalls have plenty of grip for windy mountain descents. Just did a long ride with over 14,000 feet of climb & descent in damp conditions and had plenty of grip.

Reviewed 4/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire to use on California's fast deteoriating roads.
by CDRNick
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange Co, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I don't race anymore and I don't have a sponsor to keep me supplied, so I buy tires whenever ones I like come on sale. I've piced up a liking for the 700Cx25 profile tires as they ride a little less harshly. Lition 2 tires ride well, last a long time, and when on sale don't cost as much. I've done technical downhills on these with speeds in excess of 40 mph without a worry. They are not as supple as a top end race tire, but for 90% of what I do they work well and are tough enough for California's constantly crumbline roads.

Reviewed 3/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than Continental
by mwietrick
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Michelin Lithion 2 road tires, size 23x700, are the finest tires and the best value for me. I ride more than 10,000 miles a year and also ride Double Centuries in California along with many double metrics and centuries that I use as training rides. I also don't drive gas powered vehicles so I use my bike to get there every day - lots of miles - and Lithion 2 tires get me there reliably and in a way that I like the road feel. Continentals don't provide nice road feel, but Michelin does - and very consistently.

Reviewed 3/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good lightweight tire
by 9112fast
Cycling Enthusiast
Laramie, WY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a good tire. I bought a pair to upgrde an older bike I used to train on. Tire technology haps come a long way. I was not pleased the way they mounted. I used to run a a bike shop, and installed sew-ups, and high performance clinchers. These were difficult. Baby powder on the inside of the tire did the trick. Well worth the trouble. Ride well and durable.

Reviewed 3/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great trainer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I wouldn't race on this tire but it's a great tire that's reasonably fast and puncture resistant. Good looking tire too with color options for matching, if you're into that.

Reviewed 2/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
love this tire
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Jupiter Fl.
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

sweet tire

Reviewed 12/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Michelin Lithion 2 tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sparks, NV
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are very smooth on the road. I can also put them on my rims without tools.

Not too good in puncture resistance! I flatted 15 miles into my first ride on them and 5 miles into my second. I only ride my road bike on streets and maintained bike paths

Reviewed 10/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy and affordable!!!
by Xcountry21
Cycling Enthusiast
Voorhees, NJ
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I thought these tires were a good bargain. I had been riding on the same set for 2 seasons since I bought the bike. These tires were very easy to put on and the ride has been smooth and faster than I have ridden before. Did my last triathlon with these tires on and I was hitting 27mph easy. It helped that I had a tail wind too, but overall I thought they were definitely worth the price and I haven't had any issues with them since.

Reviewed 10/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page