Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kool Stop Dura Cartridge Pad Holder Set

Kool StopDura Cartridge Pad Holder Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(27%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
Solid performer.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Year round riding is certainly possible in Portland but frequent bike maintenance is essential on a rain bike. Brake pads do wear out! This combination worked well for me as I needed one new holder but 4 new pads. The salmon colored pad works well in the rain. Of course you do need to clean your rims occasionally for maximum performance from any pad.

Ill certainly continue to use these on my rain bike since they work well!

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improvement
by Brian
Portlan

I bought these to replace my Cane Creek pads. I'd read a number of reviews that said they would be a huge improvement. They definitely are better, giving me more confidence on descents. But I would have to say that they have only given me an incremental improvement in braking power. Maybe the fault really lies with my CC brakes....

Reviewed 6/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improve your stopping power
by Louisiana Clydesdale
Cycling Enthusiast
North Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put these brake pads on a new bike with the OEM pads and had to really temper how much pressure I put on the brake levers! Why? Because I realized that the OEM pads were made by Fred Flintstone and were just as hard as his stone wheels!! These Kool Stop pads have worked very well in all situations including wet. As a Clydesdale, I've got to have good brakes. I recommend these to anyone to use.

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these on my road bike and a linear pull version for my bad weather bike. They work great. Smooth, quiet stopping. Very supple allowing you to have a great range of braking power. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 6/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid replacement set
by oaktowncyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, Calif.

If you need new shoes, there's none cheaper/better. The pads aren't bad, either...

Win/Win.

Reviewed 5/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
ps
by bulldog1935
Cycling Enthusiast
Bulverde, TX

they work great on old Weinmann center-pulls, even with 700c conversion from 27". A major upgrade over the best old Matthauser (current Continental) pads.

Reviewed 5/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best budget replacement out there
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA

Solid brakes that last a LONG time. I'm about to try Swiss Stop for the first time... other than them I've tried most others and this is the best deal

Reviewed 5/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No brainer
by bulldog1935
Cycling Enthusiast
Bulverde, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The spherical washer and concave shape of the new pads combine to make these pads completely self-aligning. They adjust for toe and they adjust for flatness automatically when you install them properly - OK, I read the directions. Very happy with the result compared to similar holders with a less-qualified tilt adjustment.

Reviewed 5/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT GRADE on OEM Brakes, smooth fast stops on these instead of the OEM Flinstone pads!!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
North Louisiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

OEM brakes on my new bike seemed slooww to stop. I was going to replace the OEM brake calipers thinking they were the problem, however, when I just replaced the super hard (think Fred Flinstone hard) brake pads to these Kool Stop pads, problem solved. Smooth fast stops now!

Reviewed 12/13/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As Good as it Gets
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Quality construction, fair price, looks great, product doesn't have problems, stops better than anything else out there. What else is there?

Reviewed 1/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Greatly Improved the Braking on the Wife's Mid-Priced City Bike
by Old Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
America''s Vancouver
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced the rock-hard, abrasive brake pads that came on the wife's Mixte purchased new on the internet. Result Smoother and faster more confident braking.

Her beautiful new bike now stops as good as it looks. Like the 'replaceable' pads and the extra set of Cool-Stop Salmons that comes with each set.

Reviewed 12/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Didn't fit in older 105 brakes.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I would really like to have used these pads, but they didn't fit in older 105 brakes (1993).

Reviewed 11/29/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Probably the best pads I ever had.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These brakes are awesome. They were recommended to me by a friend who is a competitive cyclist. I bought them in anticipation of a 3 day ride in Wisconsin that I was participating in and they proved their worth going down some steep hills in the rain. When I got home I ordered a set for my wife's bike as well. Money well spent, great even in the rain.

Reviewed 8/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
powerful
by Josh
Cycling Enthusiast
Kennewick, WA
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

wow, these are powerful brakes, nearly went over the handlebars first time I pulled them. Didn't take but a couple of pulls to seat them to the rims, they are quiet and powerful. These are great at any price, definitely recommend putting them on your bike.

Reviewed 9/23/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great stopping power in all conditions
by Ride4God
Cycling Enthusiast
Willingboro, NJ
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

These brakes work way better than the stock Tektro brake pads that I replaced. I use the salmon colored pads for all my rides. The braking is smooth and quiet with no grinding like the Tektro pads. The pads are also very light weight and the fact that they come with two sets of pads means you won't need to buy new pads for a while.

Reviewed 6/16/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.