Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Rumble VR MTB Shoe

GiroRumble VR MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(18)
(11)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(60%)
(37%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)
Comfortable, well-made shoe at a great price
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I've been riding with this shoe on my 29er for local trail rides around Portland (Powell Butte, Forest Park) as well as more aggressive (lots of elevation) trails on the south side of Mt. St. Helens. The shoe is comfortable and seems like it was made to last. HELPFUL TIP I purchased the Dress Blue color. On the website, there are three images of the blue version of this shoe but two of them have really bad color accuracy (namely the images of bottom view and side view). The only image that accurately represents the blue color is the topside view.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shoes for a Beginner
by GaryN
Casual Cyclist
McKinney, TX

I am going to post my insights on these clipless shoes and my peddles from a newbies perspective. Yeah, I don't get the clipless either, as I clip into the peddles... I ride about 20 miles 2-3 times a week, using a 29er mountain bike with slicks. I was scared to death of clipless, because I thought I would not be able to get out of them. I ordered the Shimano SM-SH56 SPD cleats to go with Shimano PD-M530 SPD Clipless Trail Pedals and Giro Rumble VR MTB Shoes. First off on the shoes, there is a channel that allows you to adjust the cleat position fore and aft, which helped me find the best fit. The Shoes are a bit heavy, but very solid and fit my feet well. The one thing I want to pass on, is the SM SH56 Cleats are multi release, so you can release your foot by twisting left or right. Plus you ARE NOT locked in to the peddles. You actually have some play where I can move my heal left or right by 12 inch to 34 of an inch. Which is really cool, as sometimes I have a little pain in my knee and by moving my right heel laterally I can take the pressure off. It really did not take me long to get used to clipping in and clipping out of the clipless cleats. You can adjust the tension on the peddles for the release pressure, and I have mine set light, but they don't come out on the upstroke. If you are considering trying clipless, go with the SM SH56 cleat, and these shoes, they were a good purchase for me. I was able to increase my pace on my circuit by 12 to 34 of a mile average. I went from 14.6 mph avg. to 15.1 and have gone faster but that was on a day when I had a good south wind. Overall I am very happy with this set up and would encourage anyone looking at trying out clipless to clip into their peddles to try this combo.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Used on the road
by Anonymous
Alpine TX

These were instantly comfortable even for 4-5 hours. Previous reviews right on the mark- great for walking, cool, full size up, lacing really locks you in. Likely will need adjustment but easy to do, my cleat is pretty far forward.

Reviewed 8/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfortable shoe
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Caldwell NJ

Use shoe every day for my commute to work

Reviewed 7/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling shoes that dont look or feel like cycling shoes
by Anonymous

I bought these after returning some shoes by Chrome that looked cool, but didnt function well. These are great. Theyre comfortable, and work well without too much movement inside the shoe. The cleats are recessed and on very smooth ground (wood floors, smooth concrete) they dont make any noise, but they do crunch or click on very uneven ground like rough concrete.

Reviewed 5/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfort large toe box, Great value!
by Trailrunner918
Cycling Enthusiast
Eureka, MT

Ordered and have been using the Giro Rumble VR MTB shoe here in NW Montana. I have problem feet and have been pleasantly surprised at the comfort level of these shoes right out of the box. I did order 1 size up as recommended in previous posts. The toe room is large and comfy. In cold weather you'll want to wear booties over the top. I have been riding my hybrid bike over icy and snow covered back roads using these shoes coupled to SPD's. Great combo.

Reviewed 4/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoes
by Hawkeyesaver
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa &40not flat&41
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden about 500 miles on these so far and I am happy. I had to play with the cleat positioning adjustment a few times to get it right for me. Thankfully the Giro Rumble offers a lot of adjustment and this is very easy to do. The shoes are generally comfortable and appear to be durable as well.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good fit and they look good.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bland, Virginia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

OK...my feet are a little strange. My left foot is a 10.5 and normal width, while my right foot is an 11 wide. With my last pair of cycling shoes the right side of the right shoe busted out after a couple years of use. I went with the advice of some previous reviews and ordered a size higher (46) just to be safe. I noticed immediately that the toe box is a bit wider than my previous shoes, and they fit perfectly. They are very comfortable!! I installed my cleats but haven't been out riding yet...waiting for the crazy March weather to smooth out around here. But I anticipate that these shoes will be just fine.

Reviewed 3/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent casual cycling shoe
by Xenos
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Shoe fits snug and I ordered 1 size larger than normal. Toe box is wide and roomy, so very comfortable. Sole stiff enough for biking, yet sufficiently flexible for walking. Used with toe clips (ones wo straps) can pedal quite efficiently. I've used them on 30 - 50 mile rides.

Appear well-made, Vibram sole is a plus, and should probe durable. Liked them so much, ordered a second pair, and one for my wife.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good casual shoe
by Xenos
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Runs small - purchased size 46 while usually take 45. Fit is quite snug, especially very curved heel. Great for casualtouring rides with toe clips that might include some walking. Sole is stiff for good power transfer, still quite comfortable for walking. Top is mesh, so not for cold weather use.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fine casual biking shoe.
by Xenos
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Washington
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Shoe runs a bit small, I usually take a size 45, but purchased a 46 Rumble and that fits well.

Reviewed 12/31/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Shoe but some complaints
by Cabbagehats
Cycling Enthusiast
Sonoma county, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these in blue for a coast to coast tour and they held up well. I am size 11 so i bought that size and they are a little snug. They stretched out enough to be comfortable but I wonder if I should have bought a size up as I can only wear thin socks with them. They have good stiffness for riding, the Vibram lugs are nice, but the cleat really removes a lot of the traction area so there is a compromise there. They are fair weather shoes and not waterproof but they dry out fairly quickly. They look rather nice and I don't feel self conscious while wearing them.

Reviewed 11/29/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe for colder temps!
by Jerry
Cycling Enthusiast
Lower Peninsula Michigan

Went one size up to allow for two pair of socks, worked well as the shoe has ample room in the toe box. Started using the shoe in November with ambient temps in the 35 range. Will see how they work during Michigan winters. Very happy with my purchase!

Reviewed 12/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shoe.
by Anonymous

Laces are better than clips. Stylish and practical.

Reviewed 10/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice mtb shoe
by Anonymous
Akron, OH

First shoe with upgrading pedals (crank bros mallet dh race.) Love the vibram rubber. I added the spacers until I got comfortable engagingdisengaging.

Reviewed 9/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable shoe, good power transfer, good grip for walking steep hills, dust eaters
by bumpermeat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my first pair of MTB shoes (I'm mostly a roadie), so I chose a brand I trust and a price that seemed OK. I only have one minor disappointment with these shoes, and it's mostly me The shoes can be tough to pull on, even when the laces are loosened. I've ridden them in the 90F heat this summer, and my feet never get hot. The toe box is large and comfortable. I'm a 13 (48) length and have relatively narrow feet, and these fit me very well, the laces allow me to tighten them across the top of the foot or snug across the ankle. If you have very wide feet, these could be a bit snug. Clipping inout is easy, and the sole affords very good grip on the flat side of my pedals.

I ride a lot of dusty and dirty trails here in Silicon Valley, and due to the mesh-type covering, these shoes absolutely eat dust and look dirty quickly. This will only bother you if you spend more time at cafes than you do on trails.

Reviewed 9/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
looks good but that's about it
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love the look and total appearance but the nose section of the shoe does not feel as comfortable after a while.

Reviewed 9/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, walkable, one full size up from your sneaker size.
by Montreal MueMue
Cycling Enthusiast
Montreal, QUE
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Comfortable, walkable, one full size up from your sneaker size. I were a size 13 in sneakers. I first tried the 47 size, returned those for the 48 size. This shoe are not a novelty, very functional. Mesh toe area for breathability. The only challenge is to clip in, a little hard at first. Once you get used to lining up, one firm press and your in, an easy twist and your out. I used this shoe for the first time with a child carrier on my front handle bar and child carrier behind my seat. The three of us had great time in Montreal, so much fun.

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe
by Anonymous

This shoe is comfortable and very easy to click into !!!Nice to walk in when not riding.The cleat slides into the peddles like a dream !

Reviewed 9/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for every day use
by FR
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

So far (a couple of months) these shoes are great. The eggbeaters cleats are fully recessed so I don't wear them down walking around, but there's plenty of space to clip in and out so that part is easy too. The sole pattern is fine for all around wear, nothing fancy but it is Vibram so that's supposed to be good. The uppers are mesh, so don't expect the slightest water resistance. The thing is, I've literally been wearing these every day all day since I've got them and have yet to notice any of the typical creasing, stressing, separation of glued layers that come with breaking in even expensive shoes, which these are not. They are comfortable - I don't bother changing into my other shoes anymore. Bonus, they're really light weight. The soles have a fair amount of stiffness in spite of these being comfortable to walk in. So far I am impressed all around.

Reviewed 8/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page