Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Foray MIPS Helmet

GiroForay MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(8%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Ideal Commuter Protection
by Mister Magoo
San FranciscoNew Orleans

This helmet is a no-nonsense helmet. The MIPS was the selling point for me. Good mid-level helmet that offers a comfy fit.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best inexpensive helmet!
by Cycling Lymie
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been a Giro Aeon wearer for years. my everyday town helmetmtb helmet was Propero II (seriously terrible wind noise above 15 mph! I'd give the Propero a negative 3)

When I smashed the Propero mtb'ing I replaced it with a $60 Lazer Tonic. Ewwww bulky buckle, weird strapping hate it!

Other than being on the hefty side compared to my $200 road helmet this Foray is an extremely good buy. Love the roc Loc fit system! the helmet doesn't look stupid, or racy which is what I wanted for towncasual riding. the buckle is half the size of a cheap Lazer helmet.

Even better was between sale price and VIP credit I got this Foray for a steal!

the bad..... the Foray will force me to ditch my Aeon and buy a Giro Sythe now.

Reviewed 3/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
First Mips
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try the MIPS for better protection. The sweat pads are an upgrade from a base helmet and seem to be more durable. They dry quickly. I have stayed pretty cool riding in the Texas mountains this summer. Foray is a good value as well.

Reviewed 7/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome helmet for the money!
by JTM
Near Boston

Light weight, MIPS technology and priced right. High performance without the heavy cost. Good selection of colors and light weight fit. I've ridden in 95 degree weather and it has kept me cool. I recommend this helmet.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Airy light helmet with comfortable fit
by Manny
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet fits well and is large enough for me to wear a winter cap. It feels lightweight and airy. I like the sleeker look. Hopefully the MIPS is the protection that I need.

Reviewed 1/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by jwahlin
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet has an adjustable size which helps it fit just right. It's comfortable, well ventilated, and looks great (I went with white) while providing solid protection.

Reviewed 1/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fitting, well designed helmet at a great price
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Severna Park, MD

This helmet, like all Giro helmets, feels very good on your head and the Roc Loc retention system does a great job of keeping the helmet snug without creating any pressure points. Ventilation is good and overall the helmet is very light. In all a very good value for the money. I purchased the neon yellow model and use it as my commuter helmet as it hopefully gives me a little extra visibility in low light situations.

Reviewed 11/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
doesn't fit like other Giro Helmets
by Steve R
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH

Nice helmet I'm sure, look nice but it doesn't fit like other Giro Helmets - it sits up higher on the head and looks odd. Bought as a gift for my son, will probably sell it and find something else that fits him better for Christmas. My old Synthe fits him perfectly, so he can use that until we get something else.

Reviewed 10/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great protection for a good price.
by dixonmeister
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX

Being 'blessed' with a large cranium, I have a difficulty finding a helmet that fits. I have previously used a Bell but couldn't find that one when it needed replaced. I tried 3 different Giro models. The Foray was the 'middle' one price wise, and it fit me well. I decided to go with it as it had the MIPS moveable liner, but was only a few bucks more than the cheaper non-MIPS one.

I'm very glad that I did. I came off my bike at 34mph (car driver) and the Foray did an excellent job of protecting my noggin. The outer shell took a pasting and I had a wonderful bruise in the shape of the helmet liner, but that's all. Thank you Giro for making this excellent helmet!

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best value in a quality helmet with MIPS.
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon

Have a difficult time finding helmets that fit correctly but this one worked. Have an old Giro Pneumo that I loved but it's almost 8 years old and probably not near as safe as it needs to be. The new Pneumo's don't fit the same. I can comfortably fit a cap underneath and it looks good and has excellent ventilation.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Comfortable Helmet
by ChirardK
Daily Commuter
Missouri
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got size Medium and it fits as expected. The helmet is comfortable and easy to adjust. It looks great too. The only problem is that it got scratched a bit from just lightly touching the ground (cement). It's disappointing because I've not had this happen with other helmets.

Reviewed 5/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good helmet, fits well, light
by Overland147
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this helmet in the high-visibility fluorescent green color for commuting. I've had a few different Giro helmets over the years, from the entry level to the higher-priced levels. This helmet, which I got on sale, seems to provide all of the features of the much higher-priced Giro helmet I use for road riding - good fit, good ventilation - at just a little more weight that I can't really feel when it's on my head. And it also has the MIPS safety feature, which I hope I don't have to test. My only concern with the Giro helmets has been damaging the helmet's suspension when the helmet is packed for travel in a backpack or suitcase. On other Giro helmets, I have had the suspension snap out, and the snaps never seem as secure the second time around, and I have had the suspension break. Has not happened on this helmet, but it has the same suspension system. So pack carefully.

Reviewed 4/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.