Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Clement Strada LGG 120 TPI Tire

ClementStrada LGG 120 TPI Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(47%)
(27%)
(20%)
(7%)
(0%)
As if you morped Vittorias and Contis!
by The Other Dr G
18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

Abstractly, I prefer Vittoria, particularly the Open Pave. I like the gummy tread, a fairly soft rubber, because it makes for a smooth ride and good grip in weather. But because the rubber is soft, it cuts relatively easily and it is beaten up by salts and chemicals in the winter. On the other end of the spectrum, riders rave about the durability of Contis particularly the Gatorskins. Problem is, I hate the hard Conti ride and found them slippery in weather.

The Clement is a hyrbid of the two. A smoother ride than the Contis, more durable than the Vittorias, grippier than the Contis. In the winter, with the premium on durability (who wants to change a flat in the cold), pretty great tire.

That said, this tire is not as good as a XPLOR MSO. That tire is simply great.

Reviewed 1/16/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic everyday tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Suburban DC

Black Mountain Cycles owner Mike Varley suggested this tire for his V2 steel road bike. I started with 28 mm and recently switched to 32 mm. It is hard to describe how comfortable and solid this biketire combination feels. Bike path or pavement, rough or smooth, damp or dry, just very, very good.

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent training tire
by AM
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using the 32mm version on my cx clinchers for commuting/training/urban adventuring. My wheels are wide, and these tires measure out at 35mm installed! They were easy to mount, and I haven't had a flat yet. They do roll well wet or dry, although wet cornering traction is noticeably less than a tire with a more race-oriented compound like a Conti GP4000 S2. Otherwise, they're great.

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love these tires!
by Martywoodman
Daily Commuter
Nashville, Tn.
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I read a nice review on a blog I follow, so I tried them. They are now on 4 of my bikes! I have 28's on a tandem and 25's on my go-to rides. They are supple on the turns and straights, not as harsh as the tires I USED to use. Very long-lasting and attractive to boot! I get many comments from other riders and I highly recommend them. I will continue to buy them until I find better tires, which I doubt will happen! When I see that they are on sale I usually buy several.

Reviewed 12/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very pleased to date
by SDrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have the 32mm, 80 and weigh 185. Have these on a Soma San Marcos. Bought as a sportier tire then the Conti Gators I usually run. These roll well, are fast, corner well in addition to looking better than the Gators. No flats so far, but no doubt will puncture easier than the Gators. I also run Michelin PRO 4 Endurances on other bikes and these seem to as good or slightly better, but the rubber does feel thinner ergo may puncture easier. The thickness feels much closer to the Conti 4000s I run on my racing bikes. So far quite pleased. Note I DO NOT ride in wet weather so no idea of how they perform on wet roads.

Reviewed 4/18/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable but very sluggish.
by AndoverVelo
Competitive Racer
New England
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires for the fall tire swap over as the weather deteriorates in New England. The reviews were solid and I thought these tires would be a nice compromise between a race tire and something like Gatorskins. I have a few hundred miles on them at this point. While they are both durable and supple, I find them really sluggish and slow - far more so than I expected from a tire that is reasonably light. I couldn't quite figure it out until I tried to ride them on my rollers. They are so grippy and sticky that I couldn't really spin them on the rollers and I had to swap them out. This may work for some people, but I want all my tires to be fast - even training tires. I'll break out the Stradas for really poor weather riding, but they don't fit the bill in what I'm looking for in a good training tire. Once they wear out, I won't replace them. As an aside, a buddy of mine bought the same tires and I asked him what he thought. He responded with one word - heavy. While I'm a huge fan of Clement CX tires, the Strada LGG 120 TPI falls short.

Reviewed 11/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride, not so hard wearing
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
9 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

These tires have an extremely nice ride but don't last very long. I installed a brand new set in March (2015) and already replaced the rear with the front needing replacing soon as well. I loved the ride the clements provide, they corner well, grip well in the wet and were decently puncture resistant (until they wore out). I'm quite disappointed in how fast they wore out 2500 miles doesn't seem like much for a durable training tire.

Reviewed 7/18/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great feeling road tire, but a bit fragile
by Chasbo
Cycling Enthusiast
prescott, az
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For a larger volume tire, the Strada LGG offers great road feel and decent grip. However, I have found them to be quite fragile, especially at lower pressures. After only 350 miles, the rear tire had numerous cuts in the tread and a small piece of road debris not only caused a puncture, but also caused a large tear in the casing. Pressure was 90 psi. I don't expect these to be as tough as a Panaracer Ruffy Tuffy, but they were a let down.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Look no further
by Anonymous
Colorado
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Awesome tires! High performance and plush. Only have about 500 miles on them so I can't speak to their durability yet but plenty of bad roads and gravel with no flats.

Reviewed 5/30/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A mixed bag for winter riding
by Bhamster
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been loving the ride and grip of these tires. They've been my training tires for this fall and winter. Comfortable and confidence inspiring in sloppy conditions. However, the soft rubber and casing that makes these so pleasant is also getting very cut up. I've flatted four times in five hundred miles with flint stuck in new cuts.

While I love the feel and price, I'm giving these up and looking for something that will hold up a bit better on wet, gritty roads.

Reviewed 1/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
28mm are nice for road and mild gravel if your bike will fit them.
by Lester Luallin
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
14 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

I run the 28mm ones on my Lemond Buenos Aires and olde 1990-sh Scapin roadie. So nice and plush. Really smooth out the rough roads and work pretty well for some gravel jaunts as long as you don't wanna do 10' radius turns or hammer up 15% dirt grades - they'll let loose on you in those scenarios.

I've got about 1000 miles on there and I expect about another thousand from the rear.

Fairly easy to mount on Mavic 217 and Rolf Vector

Reviewed 9/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires handle very well and are easy to mount.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia, PA
1 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

These are the stock tires on my Novara Trenta which has a red, black, and white color scheme, so they look great and handle very well.

Reviewed 3/7/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
by RideON!
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding, CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have a couple hundred commuter miles on these with no issues. Ride is good. So far no punctures.

Reviewed 1/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy, durable, and affordable
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

I switched to Stradas last fall as my bread-and-butter training tire after positive experiences with Clement cyclocross tires. The Strada 25s roll smoothly and offer plenty of grip while cornering on wet, sanded roads. They're also resistant against debris, I plucked a lot of garbage from the treads this winter with no signs of penetration in the belting, and haven't experienced any flats.

These aren't the lightest tires on the market. However, the Strada's comfort and reliability offset any weight penalty in my opinion. I just bought another set of 25's for racing, and plan to stick with them so long as they sell at a modest discount to Contis and Vredsteins (my other bread-and-butters).

Reviewed 4/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Working out well on the winter bike, durable and sticky with plenty of beef on the 25s.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased specifically for the winter bike ... road bike for messy roads, gravel, etc. They mounted up nicely, but have somewhat higher profile vs. wide profile on my Eurus wheels. No flats so far and they seem to hold the road well. Will be very pleased if I get some miles out of them.

Reviewed 2/7/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.