Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race Bib Shorts

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race Bib Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(77%)
(19%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Fantastic Bibs
by Kevin C
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont

These are great bibs - extremely comfortable and high quality material. Great chamois as well. They do fit very snug - I'm 6' and a very thin 140 lbs and the M is a pretty aero fit (I'm a size S in all other Castelli). My only complaint is that the inseam is a little short - wish the legs were cut an inch or so longer. Anyway, highly recommended.

Reviewed 4/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Bib Short
by Shawn
Silverdale ,WA

Good bib. Size up as usual with Castelli. Im 511 and 81 kg and Xl is just about right. The only thing I would add to improve the bib is to beef up the fabric in the short where the chamois is stitched in. That where my last pair gave out

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These are fantastic bibs!! Very comfortable and a great fit!!!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Carson City

I ride 4-5 days a week and these are the most comfortable bibs I own

Reviewed 3/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit & comfortable chamois.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lafayette, LA

I use this bib for our regular club rides on weekends. I like the quality craftsmanship and the chamois.

Reviewed 3/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bib shorts
by Joaquin
Cycling Enthusiast
Freedom

This bib shorts are the best I ever had they're comfortable they fit very nice I had other shorts but this are the best, I don't wear any other brand after I got this castelli shorts.

Reviewed 3/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs
by Anonymous

Excellent fit and compression. Nice chamois. Could be a little longer

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Right stuff
by Patrick
South Texas...where the wind doesn''t blow it suck
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My bib inventory looks like this...only Castelli. My friends ride my 'other' brands castoffs. They will never get my Castelli bibs.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks good but seems a little tight.
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL

I bought these for the chammie. I normally get regular but these are tight. After riding a while, they seem to loosen up

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best bib shorts I've owned
by K. Holland
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
Review for Castelli 2014 Men's Free Aero Race Bib Short
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The material used in these bib shorts is of very high quality. I have around 1000 miles in them and they've been washed numerous times (be sure to hang dry). All stitching has remained perfect and the material shows no signs of pilling. The leg grippers are thin, simple, comfortable and perform great. The mesh straps are airy and the feel of them disappears while riding. The Progetto x2 air chamois really completes the package. I've had issues in the past with chamois that have uneven edges (pod like areas) where they contact the skin. The ultra soft material of the Progetto X2 chamois is flat with any padding thickness variations taking place below the skin contact surface. I've worn these on several century rides and when paired with DZNUTS chamois cream have had no issues. These are and will continue to be my go to bibs for every ride over 60F. Just waiting for the right price to order more!

Reviewed 10/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most natural and comfortable bib I've owned in 38 years of riding
by Quadrifoglio
New York City, NY
Review for Castelli 2014 Men's Free Aero Race Bib Short
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After years of riding $100 bibs, I stepped up for these Castelli's back in January. Bought one pair. I now own four. The most comfortable chamois imaginable! Why do so many manufacturers make their chamois with corduroy ribs and such?! The chamois flexes naturally on the saddle and never feels bulky, yet also provides good comfort. My rides are typically 30-50 miles. They also have good protection up front and I experience no numbness as I have had with some other bibs. The compression on your thighs is firm, but not strangling (I'm XXL with 25 thighs) and the fabric warms up and the fit eases after just a couple of minutes. Excellent construction throughout. Nice bit of graphic flare without being too loud. Love 'em!

Reviewed 8/28/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, great quality, great styling.
by TahoeCycling
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe, NV

Castelli always fits me perfectly. Their products last a long time and hold their shape forever. They have a tech look and styling, but not over the top. I highly recommend Castelli.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent fit and comfort.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Folsom, CA.

The most comfortable bib shorts I have worn. Excellent padding, no points of discomfort, above average durability.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fabric, not so great fit
by ScottP
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First, the good stuff. The fabric is great - light, supportive, very breathable. The leg grippers are also well designed - somewhat mesh-like, so they're cool in the heat, and they allow some sunlight to pass through which minimizes the sharp tan line lines. Finally, the flat seams are comfortable and non-chafing.

Now the not-so-good, specifically, the fit. As others have mentioned, these run small, so you'll need to order one size larger than normal. And I did, yet they were still very tight in the quads (everywhere else was fine). The oddest part of the fit was the pad. There's an ample amount of padding at the rear of the pad, well beyond what would make contact with the saddle, and seemingly unnecessary. On the other hand, there's a distinct lack of padding in the frontal area. While some might this free sensation (they are called Aero Free after all), I found it uncomfortable after 50 miles in hot weather. Finally, the padding itself seems very thick (too thick) in the perineal area which hampers long-ride comfort.

As a point a reference, I have several top-end bibs by Assos, Nalini, Squadra and ViFra, none of which give me any problems, even on longer (100) mile rides. These Castelli's are distinctly less comfortable than all the others (some costing much less) and will likely be relegated to short races and club rides. Sad, since I have several Castelli jerseys and gloves and they're among my favorites.

Reviewed 12/27/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Bib Shorts!
by summerboy
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina

These are comfortable and fit beautifully! As with most Castelli products, size up one size.

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A1 Bibs
by Patrick Clune
Naples, FL

My preference for Castelli goes way back. Once you're dialed in, no need to break the chain. Free Aero Race Bib provides you all the details you'll find in more expensive bibs. Price point is relative to one's budget, but I've learned quality workmanship will drive higher return on investment for many, many miles.

Reviewed 9/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fitting bibs
by J.B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Ohio Va

Just finished my club's century ride wearing these bibs. They were great and I wouldn't hesitate to order them again.

Reviewed 8/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fitting bibs
by J.B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Ohio Valley, WV

Just finished my club's century ride wearing these bibs. They were great and I wouldn't hesitate to order them again.

Reviewed 8/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fitting bibs
by J.B.
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Ohio Valley, WV

Just finished my club's century ride wearing these bibs. They were great and I wouldn't hesitate to order them again.

Reviewed 8/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best bib out there! Yes you pay alittle more but the quality, comfort and wear are worth it!!!
by IM triguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Illinois heat, hills and wind

Super fit, sizing was accurate, look and feel awesome! Your caboose will thank you after those long rides!

Reviewed 8/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great fitting comfortable bibshort that works well even on 100 mile days. Suggest sizing up 1 maybe 2 sizes
by Steve Ballien
Cycling Enthusiast
spokane, washington

sounds silly, but the bibshorts fits the contours of my rear end better than any other shortbib I have worn ( assos, pearl izumi, louis garneau, velor etc ) My only bugaboo is they usually dont last as long ( wear quicker ) as a few of the other brands.

Reviewed 8/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page