Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race Bib Shorts

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race Bib Shorts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(72 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(54)
(15)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(21%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great Shorts
by C Buckley
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX

These are great shorts, I only wish I had tried them sooner! The chamois is the feature that really makes these so nice, specifically the shape and the way the edges of the chamois are thin to minimize chafing. I have previously used the top model Pearl Izumi bib shorts for years and they performed ok but in the last few years my mileage has increased and I was getting more and more irritationchafing resulting in minor sores (especially in the Central Texas summer sweat season when everything gets soggy). These Castelli shorts rival the much more expensive Assos shorts in comfort and chamois performance. The only thing I would change would be to add a bit of length to the bib straps since I am tall and the size that fits my legships is a bit too shorttight from a length perspective ... it's not really a problem when in riding position but noticeable nonetheless.

Reviewed 8/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sizing Is Meaningless
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA

First off, I am 5'11, 180 lbs. I admit that I am a bit heavier than my usual 165 lbs for reasons I won't bore you with. Losing the extra weight is a priority at the moment. That aside, this appears to be a nicely made, if rather pricey, pair of bib shorts. I say appear because I have yet to use them. The reason? The fit! I studied the sizing chart carefully and came away believing the XL would fit me fine. Wrong. I swear, trying to slip this thing on was like putting on a too small condom. It was so tight I could barely breathe. I don't know how much weight I'll have to lose to fit into this, but it could be at least 20 pounds.

My question for Castelli is who are you making these for? Eighteen year-old professional cyclists? Come on, calling this an XL is like calling a size 8 shoe a 12. And whoever came up with that sizing chart needs to get some real world experience.

Reviewed 9/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bib shorts
by Wjp
Auburn ME

Well made. My only criticism is the ugly scorpions on both my thighs.

Reviewed 9/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
5'8' 150 LBS size Large fits PERFECTLY
by cdoqrun
Cycling Enthusiast
lebanon ohio

Century riding often

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit light and airy.
by [email protected]
Cycling Enthusiast
Benicia, CA

I wear these bibs 3 times a week year-round with a local cycling group. I love the fit (snug, but not too tight) and light feel of the fabric.

Reviewed 8/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit. Comfortable
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
NJ

Like the fit and comfort over long rides

Reviewed 8/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Castelli bibs
by Oregon rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon Oregon

An awesome pair of bibs!......but be sure to order one or two sizes up from your normal size! Castelli is not the cheapest.....but you get what you pay for! Very comfortable for all day rides!

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pair of bibs
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Napa Valley

Great pair of bibs

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfortable!
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin

The Castelli bibs are the most comfortable shorts I own. I can ride for hours with no discomfort at all!

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfortable!
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Wisconsin

The Castelli bibs are the most comfortable shorts I own. I can ride for hours with no discomfort at all!

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value for the money
by Ribo68
Cycling Enthusiast
Charleston, IL

I have 2 pairs of these. They are by far my favorite bibs. They hold up well and are super comfy.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love them !!!
by Dale
Carson City Nevada

They fit perfectly and are the most comfortable pair of bibs I own!!!

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfort and Style
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great looking pair of bib shorts for long rides. Excellent feel and comfort. You may need to size up, I'm 5'11 and 175 lbs and large fits perfect.

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go 1 size bigger
by BobbyG
SC USA

I'm 5'11 190 lbs. I wear large in most cycling bibs or shorts. I followed the advice of many others & ordered XL. Perfect fit. They are comfy, cool, & stylish. The chamois is great for long rides. Too soon to say anything about longevity but was happy I bought these at % off. $ off brought them into the affordable realm for me. My only knock is the long tag in the rear.

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Say tight!
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You better order a size larger with these. Once I received the correct size, I kind of like them although you better get used to a new tan line.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality.
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL

You have to remember to order a size larger then you need since these always run small. I didnt and had to reorder.

Reviewed 6/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Bib Shorts
by WiscoBiker
Competitive Racer
Madison, WI

I wore these shorts today on a 3 hour ride in 90 degree weather. They were awesome in the heat and I find them more comfortable than any of my other bib shorts.

I sized up from my normal Large size selection and purchased XL's. I am 185 lbs and 5'10.

Reviewed 5/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best bib shorts I've owned
by K. Holland
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
Review for Castelli 2014 Men's Free Aero Race Bib Short
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The material used in these bib shorts is of very high quality. I have around 1000 miles in them and they've been washed numerous times (be sure to hang dry). All stitching has remained perfect and the material shows no signs of pilling. The leg grippers are thin, simple, comfortable and perform great. The mesh straps are airy and the feel of them disappears while riding. The Progetto x2 air chamois really completes the package. I've had issues in the past with chamois that have uneven edges (pod like areas) where they contact the skin. The ultra soft material of the Progetto X2 chamois is flat with any padding thickness variations taking place below the skin contact surface. I've worn these on several century rides and when paired with DZNUTS chamois cream have had no issues. These are and will continue to be my go to bibs for every ride over 60F. Just waiting for the right price to order more!

Reviewed 10/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best bib, period
by bl226009
Cycling Enthusiast
west palm beach, FL

already my fourth castelli aero race bib. by far the best product on the market. converted my wife and friends. everybody loves them.

use them for DK200 and don't have any butt pain after 200 miles

Reviewed 5/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Buy these bibs.
by Fossil Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Englewood, FL and Cape Cod, MA

Perfect fit (at 5'10 160 lbs. I can fit a medium, but usually wear a large). Excellent for extended distance as well as shorter hammerfests. Very comfortable chamois. The smallest of complaints is that the Castelli scorpion will start to disintegrate over time and use. But you can't go wrong, esp. if you can locate them on sale (it happens!). These were my go-to shorts for many of the 17,000 miles I rode last year.

Reviewed 4/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page